We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best in Maputo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed February 5, 2008

This hotel is definitely not a top choice in Maputo but it was adequate enough. I stayed there because of a conference that was taking place at the hotel conference facilities. The room was clean and had all the standard amenities like an in-room safe. Internet service was complementary with both wired and wireless but connecting was difficult and sporatic. Eventually I was able to connect but needed the assistance of the hotel IT person. There is also an internet cafe free on site.

A branch of the BCI Fomento Bank is located in the building.

There was no exercise facilities except for the pool. Across the street from the hotel is a park with a fitness trail. Every morning and afternoon you could find many people in the park exercising. Beyond the park is the bay. I chose to run along the road following the bay. This was a pretty view and safe enough during daylight hours.

There is also a new shopping mall about two blocks from the hotel. Very upscale by Maputo standards. Restaurants are a little sparse close to the hotel and need a taxi for most places.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dumb_screen_name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 179 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2007

I stayed at the VIP in Maputo for 10 days during a business trip. My room was OK in that it was clean, relatively quiet and of a reasonable size; under usual circumstances that would be sufficient for me to rate at minimum the hotel as either okay or average.
Unfortunately the service was one of the worst I have ever experienced; for example I had locked myself out having left my electronic card key inside my room on my way to breakfast; when I asked the front desk to give me another key or have someone open my room for me I was stalled for 30 minutes with a litany of pretexts. I was starting to run late for a meeting so I resorted to finding a cleaning lady on my floor who let me in.
The internet rarely worked and to repeated queries the answer was invariably that it would be working in a few minutes.
Used towels were taken away but not always replaced, laundry was misplaced, and it was next to impossible to get staff to respond.
Music was piped in the hotel corridors and it was too loud, i.e. you could hear it easily lying in bed; to make matters worse the only thing that played endlessly was one Zamfir tune (okay maybe two ). I would get reception to turn it off and they would invariably turn it back on again within 15 minutes.
The breakfast (included in the price) was not very good, it was difficult to get coffee served and one's plates, cutlery etc. would be taken away although still clearly in use.
Although I would normally accept and likely laugh at a small frustration of this type if it were an isolated event, the sheer number of them each day (I've left out a litany of other things) made my stay in this hotel one of the worst I have had recently.
Too bad, because with effective management and systematic customer service training this could be a very nice hotel.
I was back in Maputo a week later and stayed at another hotel
Ian Davies

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank schnouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

The hotel is relatively new in construction (as opposed to other more posh Hotels in the city) and is clean and worth its corporate rate by comparison with others in the city (all Hotels and restaurants in Maputo are overrated!). Also by comparison, this is a better bet than most others. The main problems are:
1 - When the hotel is relatively full, you cannot get hot water in the shower. This is frequent and irritating.
2 -Internet connection works 80% of the time.
3 - If you have a lengthy stay, you get absolutely bored with the breakfast. It never varies.

When faced with complaints from many guests for the above conditions, the management always answers that they will send the house technician to repair. Either that is a lie or the technician is totally incompetent, because everything remains the same. Believe me, because I am staying still here for over two months now (work related). Never moved out because it is conveniently located near my work.

Personnel are friendly and eager to please.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank zambezi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank rafiktn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
Thank gefParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yotsuhashi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
2.1 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
#9 of 23 in Maputo
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#7 of 23 in Maputo
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#6 of 23 in Maputo
201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#3 of 23 in Maputo
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Grand Maputo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Grand Maputo Hotel

Address: Avda 25 de Setembro 692, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Price Range: $82 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Grand Maputo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Vip Maputo is certainly your gateway to the capital of Mozambique. Just 15 minutes from Mavalane International Airport, is located in one of its most prestigious arteries, Av. 25 de Setembro, overlooking Maputo bay. Offering 188 rooms, 6 Junior Suites and 6 Executive Suites. At your disposal you may also find a Restaurant, Cocktail Bar, outdoor swimming pool and a huge Conference Center, with several rooms of different capacities, from 12 to 500 people. Nearby, only at a few meters, it’s possible to visit the FACIM - Exhibition Fair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Grand Maputo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing