We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in town”
Review of Mozaika Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mozaika Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 41 Maputo B&B and Inns
Tete, Mozambique
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home in town”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very cosy place in center town. You fill like home and the staff is very gentle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
14
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed at Mozaika when my usual guesthouse (Sundown Residencial) was full. It is nicely presented, with a beautiful garden and sitting area (something which Sundown unfortunately lacks). My room and bathroom were spacious, well-equipped and clean. My only gripe was the windows. There was one small window which didn't open, and then very small (10cm width) windows on either side of the door. These ones opened, but had no curtains, so the light from the passage came flooding in throughout the night. I also noticed, sitting at breakfast one morning, that the central areas overlook the bathrooms in rooms 2 and 3, and I had a fairly clear view of the gentleman showering in room 2 as I ate my pastel de natas! Next time I'll take an eye mask and be careful about when I use the bathroom - but otherwise I would stay here again. Staff were also very helpful.

Room Tip: Beware of room 2 (for the not-so-private bathroom) and room 3 for the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have been throw to Mozaika guest house and force to change of hotel (in fact probably for overbooking and money reason) even my second night was reserved and already paid by voucher. I contact Inatur, the mozambican tourism autority and they open an inquiry. To defend themselves, the owners of Mozaika guest house said that moving to another hotel was my choice !!! I knew they were able to lie but not to that level…

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank regis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I spent almost a week here while I was on a mission in Maputo. Mozaika is a small, colorful and friendly guest house. Perfect if you are on a mission which takes you around during the day. At Mozaika you can have a nice rest under the mosquito-net and enjoy a quiet breakfast before your work day starts. No meals are served later on, but you can order take aways from several menues from near by places. What I enjoyed mostly was the wonderful garden, the many small detailes of colorful dashes and the nice staff.The swimming pool looks good on picture, but serves really more like a dipping pond. I would go there again; there is a a homefeeling to that place! Anne

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from the noisy machine placed on the wall outside - a generator?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpelele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Mozaika is an excellent place to stay for short to medium stay business trips or holidays. The staff and the service they provide are excellent. The facility is clean, centrally located, is very quite and provides an amenable working environment. This is enhanced by their free Wifi service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Mozaika is one of the B&B in Maputo, managed by a Pakistani family. The setting is nice and safe, although a bit noisy, and too expensive for what they offer. In addition the place is rather far from the restaurants and shops, so you will need to spend additional money on taxis. They don´t serve lunch or dinners. Be prepared that you may have to pay in cash, as their credit card machine is often out of order. It does not accept Mastercard or Amex anyway.
In addition, I had a rather unpleasant experience. I let it go as I thought that the reception made an error, but when I met someone with the same experience I decided to write this comment. Mozaika has only a few rooms and when you are alone they may simply cancel your reservation (even during your stay) if they can accommodate a group that occupies more rooms (and apparently give more profit). So be prepared that you may need to move during your stay (this is their way to do business).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
394 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I like this hotel "guesthouse", much improved from my previous visit in 2008. You get here a delicious rest in a recently refurbished and beautiful house with garden and mango tree in the centre of Maputo. It is a heaven for making a pause on your inland travels or long international journeys. Close to the general hospital and the coast (good jogging there), it offers access to nice restaurants and parks.
Size of rooms vary, but they are all at the same price (142US$ in 11/2011)! Room 1 is ok with a queen size bed and nice bathroom with a real bathtub. Room 9 offers enormous space in 3 different living spaces and a terrace. Try to avoid room 4 with twin beds and little space leftover.
There is a decent breakfast included, but sometimes you have to wait as the bread did not arrive...
Wireless Internet is free, but not very reliable and out of reach in some rooms (the 4 and 9). The best then is to access wifi in the comfortable lounge available to the guests. Beware of the bulky mains outlets, they must be from SA, with 3 finger like prods... nothing for your European or American mains plugs. Some adapters are available though, but they tend to get fewer at each next visit!
For payment Mozaïka wants cash. If you dish out US$ or €, the rate they apply is not very good (4% below the airport exchange), so you better stop by and load a bagful of meticaïs!
Another thing I am sorry for is the robot cleaning the pool all day long. It is just such an eyesore with the plastic hose hanging in this beautiful garden.

Room Tip: room 9, enormous space, suite, terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.9 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 23 in Maputo
544 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Africa Business
Hotel Africa Business
#11 of 23 in Maputo
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Quiet Corner Guest House
0.9 mi away
Mozguest Residence
Mozguest Residence
#9 of 41 in Maputo
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mozaika Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozaika Guesthouse

Property: Mozaika Guesthouse
Address: Av. Agostinho Neto 769, Maputo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maputo's Best Kept Secret just got Better... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mozaika Guesthouse Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing