We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Hotel Cardoso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cardoso
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed March 31, 2014

SERVICE: My colleagues were embarrassingly rude to the staff (Sorry!) but the staff remained polite and professional.

LOCATION: Good location with really beautiful view from the back terrace.

ROOMS: The room was simple and clean with a lovely bathroom. No complaints.

VALUE FOR THE MONEY: I did not pay out of pocket to stay here so I cannot comment on this.

I enjoyed my stay here and cannot think of any complaints. Would recommend staying here!

[Stayed here in August 2009]

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehfxgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear thehfxgrrl

Thank you for sending your opinion to TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Cardoso and hope to welcome you back in the future

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 364 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

In a refurbished room smelling strongly of paint I had to ventilate the room a lot to be able to breath. Thant aside the room was nice, bed was big and comfortable. There's a desk, plenty of wardrobe space, several power points (South African round pin plugs - so ask for an adaptor at reception) - including a power point by the bed. Why don't most hotels learn that we want to charge our cellphone overnight so would like a point close to the bed? Cardoso got this right. There's enough light in the room, nice TV. Bathroom is all new and well equipped. You get two bottles of water each day and you can make tea/coffee in room. Breakfast is a very generous buffet with lots of fruit, hot stuff and baked goods in the restaurant with a fantastic view over the bay. I ate in the restaurant one evening which was fine, though not memorable. There's a gym which is hidden away, but adequate - I preferred to run along the promenade on Avenida Friedrich Engels which is reasonably close and where many other go to exercise (daylight hours only)

What is not so good is that the staff seem to have an arrogant attitude and are just not very friendly. Odd since almost everyone in Mozambique is super friendly. There's no option for not changing towels/bedding daily which is a wasteful shame.

Room Tip: Odd number are 'City view', even numbers are 'sea view' and I suspect are more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMTMRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear MMTMRome

Thank you for sharing your views on TripAdvisor. Whilst I’m delighted that you enjoyed most of our facilities here, I am also disappointed to hear that our team were unfriendly. This is definitely not the norm and we’d like to extend our apologies for this.

We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Kind Regards

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The saving grace of this hotel is it's view. Considering the increase in price, however, much work needs to be done. Service is friendly but poor in the lobby and bar area; one can sit and never be approached by a waiter asking if they'd like something. Service at dinner was better, although the quality of the buffet was inconsistent. We were there on a long weekend, and laundry was not available for almost 3 days, not acceptable if the hotel is charging $250/night. Staff who come to check on the room after it's been cleaned often knocked once and immediately walked into the room without waiting for a reply, so privacy was an issue. The maids cleaned well, but ever day left the door to my balcony unlocked, and I was on the second floor in front where there was access to my balcony from neighboring rooms and the roof of the Pam Gold agency, so security was an issue as well. On the way down to the small and cramped gym, there were frequent dead cockroaches left out. Overall the hotel was OK, and people will continue to come because of the view, but there really is a need to improve many things.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Jamie E

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear your experience wasn’t great – particularly from a service perspective. This is obviously not how we wish to be remembered. I have chatted to our Management team and we’ve initiated some follow up training for the areas concerned.

We are an old building but have a comprehensive and continuous maintenance program in place both preventative and reactive

Once again thank you for sharing your views

Dave Hackney
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in January and could not fault it. We loved the breakfast, the staff were courteous, helpful and friendly, the pool and views wonderful and the location is central and we were able to walk to many places.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool, it was very large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Meredith N

Thank you posting your opinion to TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you and your daughter had a good time at the Cardoso and we wish you many happy returns to Mozambique

Kind Regards

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for one night in early Jan on business. The service and staff were excellent at the Cardoso. The views from the pool and restaurant are spectacular. We only ate breakfast here and found it to be of average quality.

We did not have any issues with construction noise. Our room had been renovated to a decent standard. We had a very nice sea view and lovely little patio.

Hotels are expensive in Maputo. Overall, the Cardoso was quite good for the price.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Ducimus

Thank you for taking time to post your review to TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at the Cardoso. We hope to see you again in the future

Kind regards

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel itself is lovely, with a great bar and amenities. We got a sea facing room which was spacious and modern. The hotel is only let down by its staff! Upon discovering that there was no bar fridge in the room we asked if a special bottle of champagne could be stored until we needed it, the bartender took it reluctantly and then kept returning it when his shift was over. The tourist desk was non-existent so we missed out on many activities because nobody knew anything. The wait staff were rude and too busy to see to our needs, but as we discovered this was par for the course in Maputo.

Room Tip: Sea facing room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lungi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear LUNGI05

Thank you for taking the time to send your opinion to TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay but are naturally disappointed with your opinion of our service staff. We have discussed this with the concerned employees and hopefully this sort of uncooperative behavior will not re-occur

Kind Regards!

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I would certainly stay here again for a business trip as the hotel was good value for money for a Maputo hotel compared to the product delivered. I stayed here for 2 nights, the rooms are ok, internet is great and the best selling point to me. You have a desk and comfortable bed with uncomfortable pillows. I was in a standard room with a recently refurbished bath room, everything worked in the bath room but the workmanship of the refurbishment was a little shabby. I only ate breakfast in terms of food, the breakfast spread was above average with a shabby service from the staff. Reception staff are excellent and resolve everything for you.

Room Tip: ask for comfortable pillows - my first ones were very strange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SforSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear SFORSANI

Thank you posting your opinion to TripAdvisor. We’re really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Cardoso. We have noted your remarks regarding the new rooms and will review this with our contractor

Kind Regards!

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#6 of 23 in Maputo
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#7 of 23 in Maputo
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cardoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cardoso

Address: Av. Martires de Moeda 707, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
#4 Business Hotel in Maputo
Price Range: $161 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cardoso 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a cliff top in the heart of Maputo, set in lush gardens with panoramic views over Maputo Bay, lies Cardoso Hotel, the perfect place to savour the true spirit of Mozambican hospitality. Boasting 130 spacious en-suite bedrooms and suites especially tailored for the most discerning traveler. Since opening in 1919, this majestic and iconic hotel has captured attention through its blend of Portuguese and Italian architecture positioning it as one of the most historic and finest buildings in Maputo, hosting guests from far and wide who seek a place to explore our cities´ colorful history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cardoso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardoso Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing