We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“visiting Mozambique ...hotel cardoso in maputo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cardoso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cardoso
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“visiting Mozambique ...hotel cardoso in maputo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

its a beautiful 4 star good for hotel for business and tourist travellers.The rooms and amenities were excellent with friendly staff .Amazingly,there is 24 hours free wifi internet service.The complimentary buffet breakfast is beautiful with good security.For gym lovers,its available for 24 hours.Security is good.The rooms were spacious and well furnished.Its worth every cent i paid... with a good view of the beach

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sampson E

Thank you so much for taking the time to send your review to TripAdvisor.

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the Cardoso. I hope we remain your choice of hotel in Maputo for years to come

Kind Regards

Eugenio Dos Santos
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    166
    64
    15
    11
See reviews for
16
48
27
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I um-ed and ah-ed between a 3 or 4* rating here. The hotel has a stunning location, overlooking the bay and downtown Maputo, and the gardens and pool area are beautiful. Also on the positive side, we were running a conference here, and after an initial hiccup with our booking (they placed us in a very small room - not the bigger one for which we had written confirmation) they very quickly and professionally dealt with the situation and moved us. The rooms are verging on the 4* side - very comfortable beds with duvets (although my colleague bemoaned the absence of variety of pillows), and small verandahs. I think we were unlucky with the room we had (118) - because it was very close to communal areas and on the ground floor (and near to the outside store where staff were in and out), and therefore very noisy. The walls seem to be very thin, and we could also hear people moving around in the neighbouring room, and the slamming of doors. The hotel is also tiled, so if you have someone noisy above you, you will know about it. In future I'll ask for a room higher up, and further away from the communal areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and at the end of each wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear FrequentTravelleRkv

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always grateful for constructive feedback.

Kind Regards
Eugenio Dos Santos
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Some pros and some cons with this centrally located Maputo Hotel.

Pros

1. Excellent transfer service from the airport. Although I would have wished the driver didn't hand my bag straight over to one of the local kids to wheel it 10 m, before they demanded a tip.
2. Complimentary WIFI. Always a plus for a modern hotel.
3. Beautiful views from the garden bar/pool area.
4. Quiet room even though I was located on the road side of the hotel.

Cons
1. Room price was expensive for an older hotel. This reflects the limited options in Maputo.
2. Service - particularly in the bar area outside - was very average at best. Most of the time it felt like I was massively inconveniencing the staff when ordering a beer. The guy who cooked my breakfast ignored me at first, before taking 15 minutes to cook a basic, very average tasting omelette.
3. Towels in the bathroom are old and smell appalling. I ended up using the hand towel after showering. Please replace these.
4. Room service/bar menu is very limited. This needs an overhaul with more options.

Those who have travelled to Maputo before will know the city is pretty void of many hotel options. This is going to change when the Radisson Blu opens next month and others open in the next 12 months. It's time for the existing hotels in Maputo to lift their game to another level.

Room Tip: Seaside if you can get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigJonesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear CraigJonesNZ

Thanks a lot for sending your review to TripAdvisor. We have noted both your praise , for which we are grateful , and your problems which we have duly forwarded to the service provider concerned. Thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Many thanks
Eugenio Dos Santos
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

have just been staying here for last two weeks, i have nothing to complain about. food is excellent staff are good, English is not a problem. i have to give a big thank you to Eugenio the Guest relations manager his assistance made the whole stay enjoyable. hotel has free WiFi which although a little slow, but then i am trying to access websites in Europe!! views from hotel are breathtaking. there are a few restaurants outside of the hotel (around 10 minutes walk). i can recommend Nimmos and Pirata.
there is a craft market around 10 minute taxi drive, where you can practice your haggling skills and get some good deals. looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: any sea view is good, but road view rooms are as quite and also more dark, sea view have a spotlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrusty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, General Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Mrrusty 16

Thanks you for taking the time to send your views to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and have ensured that our team see’s your review. We have also noted with concern your comments on the internet – we have spent considerable resources on providing a world class service and have passed your comments to our service providers to rectify this issue . Also thank you for your kind words regarding Eugenio – you are quite correct – he is an asset to our team.

Kind regards
Dave Hackney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVG
Level Contributor
228 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

a classic standard hotel, I'm sure that you could easily find better solution in Maputo.
The people at front desk are willing to help but more than often witha reaction time which could strongly influence your Zen practice ( even if you don't use zen). I have had a problem of lost luggage at the airport and they said me the hotel could handle it but in fact they couldn't, or, at least, at european speed.. . Exchanging money has always been a problem, most of the time the local currency was unavailable
Breakfast is really well prepared and you can enjoy it on a beautiful terrace. Rooms are "essential" with a subtle note of dusty and damp

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bidibodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear PaolaA

Many thanks for submitting your comments to TripAdvisor.

I do empathize with your lost luggage problem but whilst the hotel will provide all the assistance it can ; one needs to understand that lost luggage is really an issue between the passenger and the airline. Hopefully you managed to get your suitcases back.

Kind regards

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Th Cardoso is well located with a great view over downtown Maputo. The hotel unfortunately doesn't really maximise on the view by having above average amenities. The lobby is rather bland and uninspiring and the rooms are much the same. This is the only hotel I have ever come across where the towels provided are navy blue. Yes, navy blue! I wonder... The bathrooms need an overhaul to become more acceptable.

The hotel is very noisy in the parts where the floors are not carpeted, close to the lift lobby.

The pool is small and intimate.

Thankfully WiFi is provided on a complimentary basis

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the lift lobby should be quieter; other than this there is quite a bit of no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc-Dee-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Kalabashzee

Thank you for taking the time to submit your opinion. The hotel has recently been upgraded and whilst not everybody enjoys the new decor I can thankfully reveal that your opinion of the lobby is the minority view. Our pool has never been described as small and intimate as it is the largest hotel pool in Maputo , but I hope you managed to have a refreshing swim anyway.

Thanks again for taking time to submit an opinion.

Best regards

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. The sunsets are excellent here and the location is very good. I enjoy the breakfast here and internet is included. They have a couple of restaurant choices within, but I opted to eat downtown. Try to make sure to get a room that faces the cliff/sea. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siamac m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear SIAMAC M

Many thanks for posting your comments to TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that on your next visit to Maputo we will remain your accommodation service provider of choice

Eugenio Dos Santos
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#5 of 22 in Maputo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#7 of 22 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cardoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cardoso

Property: Hotel Cardoso
Address: Avenida Martires de Mueda 707, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Maputo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cardoso 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous Cardoso, whilst situated in the heart of Maputo, commands sweeping views over Maputo Bay and the city below. This is the perfect base from which to do business, host a conference, explore Mozambique's colourful history or merely relax and enjoy all the pleasures which come with a stay at Hotel Cardoso. Fresh, vibrant and stylish the internationally acclaimed Hotel Cardoso sits on the Maputo cliff top with spacious gardens, large swimming pool and idyllic terraces. All bedrooms benefit from being individually decorated and contain all the amenities you would expect of a deluxe international hotel. Upgrade to a suite to enjoy your own private, luxury lounge and balcony running the full length of your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cardoso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardoso Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing