We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offers a very basic experience for the four star rating it claims”
Review of Pestana Rovuma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Rovuma
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotels in Maputo is crazily expensive for what you get. The Pestana Rovuma is more affordable than most of the local hotels but offers a very basic experience for the four star rating it claims to have - two stars would better describe what you can expect. It is clean and relatively neat, but the rooms are old and very basic. My room had an old box TV with dodgy, intermittent WiFi Internet. There were coffee and tea sachets but no kettle. The sliding door of the wardrobe was stuck and difficult to open. The shower in my room was leaky and sprayed in all directions and the basin had no plug. Staff is friendly and helpful, which makes the experience bearable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Mr. Henry V,
We have just received your questionnaire regarding your stay at the Pestana Rovuma Hotel, and firstly we would like to thank you for informing us of your concerns. It is through guests such as yourself that we are able to rectify our errors and improve in order to offer better standards to our customers. Let me begin by assuring you that this is not our normal standard of service and we sincerely apologise for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. We can assure you that all your concerns have been duly noted and we are in the process of rectifying them.

We hope to have a pleasure of serving you at the Pestana Rovuma in the near future and please contact the General Manager or Duty Manager in case of need of assistance during your stay as this will definitely allow us to take the necessary actions.

Sincerely,
Vasco Manhiça | Director Geral - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 238 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hotel is too overpriced, though all the 3+ stars hotels in Maputo are extremely expensive.
Food was good enough. Hotel has relatively clean rooms. Staff wasn't that nice, unwilling to serve coffee in the mornings. Moreover cockroaches were joyously running in the room.

Room Tip: Best view from the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gulzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

First of all thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pestana Rovuma and for taking the time to post your opinion. Your feedback is appreciated and we'll seriously consider your suggestion for improvement.
We are truly sorry to have failed to meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced. We have addressed your issues with our team and we will take the necessary steps to improve the quality of our services and hope that we can have you again here at Pestana Rovuma.

Best Regards,
Vasco Manhiça | Director Geral - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here three times on business over the course of 2013-early 2014, each time for a week. Each time it got progressively worse. Fixtures falling apart, closet and balcony doors not working, wifi terrible.. On more than one occasion, housekeeping opened my door and walked into the room without knocking. Sometimes, the elevator does not work. (happened on 2 of 3 of my visits). Pictures on website are probably what this hotel looked like 10 years ago, but not a true reflection of today. Also, the beds are not full size, but are 2 twin beds pushed together.

My biggest issue was on my third stay in March. For the most part, the staff who can speak some english, will be marginally helpful. However, if you have a problem, as I did, the staff will outright RUDE, disrespectful and completely unprofessional. Have since filed an official complaint and received no response. Would NOT recommend if you are looking for a hassle-free stay or you are on business and hoping for professional staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dpurpleorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pestana Rovuma and for taking the time to post your opinion. We deeply regret that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced.
All points raised deserve our utmost attention. All your observations were taken into consideration and subject of thorough analysis by the management.
We express our gratitude for sharing with us your experience, since it allows us to take action into improving our quality of services, and hopefully be worthy of your visit in the future.

Sincerely,
Vasco Manhiça | Director Geral - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

First reaction: Please do not believe the photographs on the website. The reality is far, far removed from the photographs. The rooms (at least the one I was allotted) are in a run-down shape, with the closet door not shutting, the walls peeling off, the floor tiles broken. The hotel is a Soviet-era relic and has not been renovated to meet with modern-day requirements.
Another example: the pool is actually an over-sized bath-tub...I am close to 6 feet and it'll take me maximum two-three strokes to complete a lap. It's nothing like the photograph on the website.
Second reaction: Most staff members (indeed most people in the city) do not understand English.
Overall reaction: the staff members are not rude or surly, but hamstrung by their lack of communication skills. They are good and do try to be helpful but are handicapped by their lack of communication skills and the poor state of the hotel: for example, the desks in the rooms do not have an accessible plug point and the hotel didn't have a single spike guard. They couldn't even acquire one...but they were willing to buy one from the market provided I picked up the tab.

Room Tip: Go higher for a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ModernMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Firstly thank you for your observation and constructive criticism regarding your stay at the Pestana Rovuma, and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you might have experienced. All points raised deserve our attention and we are taking appropriate measures to prevent future cases .

We want to once again express our displeasure for not meeting your expectations , but your comments have been shared with our teams for appropriate action.
Thank you again for your preference and we'll make sure to do our best in providing you a good time whenever you want to honor us with your visit.

Best Regards,
Vasco Manhiça | Director Geral - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

In desperate need of upgrade
Bad internet connection
Cupboard doors falling apart
Dirty carpets in room and corridor
Air conditioner very old and too noisy to operate
Water flow in bathroom unacceptable
Overpriced for the offering

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avrils616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pestana Rovuma and for taking the time to post your opinion. We deeply regret that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced.
All points raised deserve our utmost attention. We express our gratitude for sharing with us your experience, since it allows us to take action into improving our quality of services, and hopefully be worthy of your visit in the future.

Sincerely,
Vasco Manhiça | Director Geral - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were picked up at the airport by a hotel cab. The driver was only holding an A4paper with the hotel name. He could not speak a word of English. Arriving at the hotel, the reception was welcoming. However, once I got my room the toilet was very dirty and one phone call to reception, same was cleaned quickly and sanitized. Food was average. Lift was working when they wanted to. Most of the times we used stairs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pestana Rovuma and for taking the time to post your opinion. Your feedback is appreciated and we'll seriously consider your suggestion for improvement.
We are truly sorry to have failed to meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced. We have addressed the cleanliness issue and we will take the necessary steps to improve the quality of our services and hope that we can be worthy of your trust for future stays.

Best Regards,
Vasco Manhiça | Director Geral - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nice, clean, spacious room. The staff was most helpful and the breakfast was excellent. However, because of the noise made by the air conditioner, it was impossible to get a good night's sleep. I would absolutely stay there again but not unless the AC is updated.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th floor, which was probably just under the main AC unit on the roof. I would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VascoManhica, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2015

Dear valuable Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Rovuma Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment very seriously and whether positive or negative we are greatly appreciate and we always aim to improve.
It was an enormous pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service. We look forward to your next visit which we hope will be soon, as we would like to offer you more ‘Memorable Moments’
Vasco Manhiça - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
#9 of 23 in Maputo
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#7 of 23 in Maputo
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
#15 of 23 in Maputo
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Rovuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Rovuma

Address: Rua da Se 114, Maputo 4376, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Price Range: $84 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Rovuma 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Rovuma is a 4-star hotel in the city of Maputo, Mozambique. It is located in the centre of downtown, next to the Cathedral and City Hall. The Tunduru botanical gardens are only 400 metres away. It is the ideal location for discovering the capital of Mozambique. The Hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, gym, business centre, a restaurant and a bar. It offers a car park and conference rooms. In addition, it has a small shopping area at the entrance to the hotel. The rooms offer enviable views of the city and Maputo Bay and a large number of the rooms have balconies and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Rovuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Rovuma Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing