We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
0
8
19
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
8
19
13
12
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel as part of an organised tour travelling around Mozambique, therefore had no part in choosing the hotel. The hotel smelt atrocious, between the lobby and the bedrooms there was an overwhelming smells of gas, sewage and mould. The hotel did not feel safe as once we left our rooms we could not get back in again, however there seemed to be a few unfavourable looking characters within the hotel who appeared to have no issues with this. The bar area seemed to be the cleanest place to hang out, but by the time we reached that our expectations of the hotel were at an all time low anyway. We were lucky to be travelling in a relatively large group, would not have been able to laugh it off had it just been a getaway for the two of us!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Kat140990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

Maputo...pretty much hated it. Police are as crooked as they come. Kept flagging our bus down to fine our driver for everything and waited in the bushes and trees to catch a tourist taking a photo. Any photo. Against the law for people to photograph any public buildings but police just said anything we snapped was a public building. Nothing to photograph anyway really.
There were three of the moochers on the doorstep of the Turismo hotel waiting to follow us and fine us. Our guide had his passport withheld when he refused a silly fine. He had to go back later and bargain.
No danger whatsoever just an unbelievably large pain. The locals were friendly enough to be fair.
Now to the hotel. Absolutely horrendous. Whole place reeked of gas which was disturbing and by reeked I mean overpowering. The only way to escape was go to your room which stank to high heaven of sweat, breath and dirty underwear. The only way to escape that was go to your bathroom which had the most horrendous stench of sewage. The headboard was smeared brown by years of greasy heads. At least I hope it was heads. One of our group had a used condom wrapper on his bedside table.
Add to that the two absolute wrecks of prostitutes that permanently resided on reception draping themselves on the guests and you get a small piece of the picture.
The key cards didn't work, not for any of the ten of us travelling together. Farcical situation as whenever a guest came in we had to get a guy from the lobby to cone up with us everytime and let us in.
And yet....it has a nice restaurant so go figure! We had a great evening sitting in it smelling the gas and laughing at the sheer craziness of the place.
Everyone was nice to be fair, it was tidy...just so so tired and rundown.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
2  Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is in an awful condition. Air conditioning was pumping out moist air. The staff are friendly apart from one of the night shift. Wouldn't ever recommend it. Don't waste you're money. Spend a bit more somewhere else

Stayed: March 2016, traveled on business
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2015

This hotel was the old Ibis. The location is the best thing about this hotel.
It is within walking distance to the Market, city hall, Maputo shopping center etc. Rooms are very basic and tiny. Breakfast was reasonably good, and so was the safety.Wifi didn't work

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tumelo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

This former Ibis hotel is really old and there are much better options. The location is really good, so maybe the Tivoli nearby might be a good alternative.
The good things: AC works well, staff is very friendly, room was clean.
But this cannot compensate the old shower curtain, the water leaking from the toilet, the slow reception service...

Stayed: December 2015, traveled on business
Thank RolandHVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews