We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A Nossa Casa - CLOSED

A Nossa Casa
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
“friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

sadly, a review a bit late as the restuarant closed without warning in March-ish. Did offer excellent, uncomplicated food at a very good price. Super friendly staff and an easy place to take a 3 year old!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

not everything on menu is available, even simplest of drinks. service was bad

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“South African restaurant in a good location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

"A Nossa Casa" (our house) is an odd choice of name for this South African Restaurant, it should perhaps be renamed the Afrikaans equivalent of "Rugby House". The food is average and the ambience totally destroyed if you go on any night rugby is on (which is Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays for 11 months of the year). They have a wonderful place on the beach jsut next to Miramar, and a little further down, Sagres. So on one hand they are in a great location, but on the other hand a very poor one, as why would one go here rather than Miramar or Sagres?? The answer: to watch rugby.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOzwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor management, poor food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

This restaurant is situated on the beachfront close to the Southern Sun hotel. We ended up there because the adjoining restaurants did not have tables available. The atmosphere is noisy and aimed at the younger generation. The service we received from our waitron was not bad, but the food was terrible. I ordered a seafood basket which was supposed to contain prawns, calamari, fish and Portuguese rissoles ( prawn cakes). The waitron advised me that they were out of fish and asked if they can add more calamari, which I agreed to. The seafood was fried in very old oil and was covered in black specks. The rissoles were replaced by two samoosas. The calamari was very tough and the prawns only tasted of motor oil. My husband ordered the fish of the day, which was also inedible. Unless your name is Volkswagen or Ford, give this restaurant a skip. The restaurant owner was sitting at the table next to us and in spite of the waitron pointing him out when we complained about the food, he chose to ignore us.
There is absolutely nothing we liked about this restaurant and we left feeling a bit sick and still hungry.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EtrRsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Nossa Casa also viewed

Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 
Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing