We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical fast food restaurant”
Review of Mimmos

Mimmos
Ranked #37 of 158 Restaurants in Maputo
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Seville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“typical fast food restaurant”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The pizzas are really basic, it's a typical fast food pizza with industrialized ingredients and the steak (bitoque) also really basic (poor quality meat, without any taste)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria_del_mar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    46
    44
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Creative pricing”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ordered a dozen grilled shrimps and a large pizza at the Mimmos in Av. de Julho (Maputo). We asked for the pizza to be half "portuguese" (the cheaper half), half "neptune" (the more expensive half).

We first asked whether the shrimps could be served at the same time as the pizza, but were told that this would be impossible. We insited. As a result, we ate a dozen cold shrimps. The shrimps were not peeled and were served with a simple sauce, which tasted like simple mayonese. The pizza was OK.

When we asked for the bill, to our surprise, this is what we were charged: a dozen shrimps, one neptunes pizza, and one "extra sausages." We explained, to no avail, that we had not asked for any extras, and that the sausages came with the "portuguese" half of the pizza. Eventually, the manager explained that he had charged us a whole pizza of the expensive half and, since the cheaper half had one more ingredient than the more expensive half, we were charged an extra ingredient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RomanoG128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A place to dash to when you really need to grab some pizza quickly”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I usually dont favout Italian foods, but the kids just love Mimmo's pizzas.

What can I say ... the pizza tastes alright. Nothing to write home about. Service is good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good service”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I were staying at Base Backpackers which is just a short walk away, and we were recommended to eat here by the staff there. We really enjoyed our food - large portions on the pricey side, but still very good value. Our waiter was friendly and attentive, and because we sat away from the edge of the outside terrace, we were not hassled by touts. Recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Mimmos 24 de Julho, Maputo”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good food good price. On a busy corner with cafe blinds open to street so good to watch world go by. Cafe food, steaks, seafood, pasta, pizza. Friendly staff, good service. Worth a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimmos also viewed

Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 
Maputo, Maputo Province
 

Been to Mimmos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing