We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”
Review of Blue Anchor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Anchor Inn
Ranked #6 of 41 Maputo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germiston, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well located”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the best place to stop at if you're heading north or south, the food is good and the owners Paul and Liz are great hosts and very knowledgable about the country and the rules.

I would definitely stay there and have another whiskey with Paul again.

Pity they were booked for our retun trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluffyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    24
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
18
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We needed a stop over in Maputo and were recommended this Inn by our final resort and by the reviews I read. It was extremely dissapointing. The problems were based on the actual venue and the service we experienced. When I made my booking I made it clear that it was our first visit to Moz and that I was travelling with my kids so any advice would be welcome. When we arrived at Maputo tollgate we experienced the start of a traffic jam which took 8 hours to cover 6 km. we contacted the lodge and informed them we were running late and asked for any assistance with directions or alternative routes etc. They could not help. An hour later we called to ask what time the restaurant would close and could they prepare something for us or advise us where to go etc, they could help either. We finally arrived at 03:00 in the morning to a Inn that did not have any power due to local issues. This I can understand and accept, what I cannot accept is that the management were aware of this power failure since much earlier and did not even leave a candle in the room for us. They told us that they left a letter with the keys, but I can't read in the dark....and once I have arrived it doesn't really help. They had our contact details and what really bothered me was that they were also aware of the traffic jam and could have easily given us an alternate route which we found out about the next day from other travelers. The rooms were however comfortable but not worth the cost. We barely managed to wake up before the required 09:00 am checkout, and had to ask very politely if breakfast could be stalled a bit as we had not eaten since lunch the previous day. The breakfast was pretty good though. I don't like giving poor reviews and I have travelled to many places here and abroad but I was very unhappy. The attitude is wrong....and we spoke to the owners not some new receptionist etc. It's not the lodges responsibility to give me alternate routes or keep food, that I understand but they could have very easily assisted and their advice and recommendations would have made it much easier for us. They should have left candles in the room and they could have told us the extent of thentraffic issue as they confirmed their knowledge of this from other guests. I don't think it would have been too much of an inconvenience to make a few sandwiches as a gesture....I would have gladly paid for this. I will never visit here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been stopping over @ Blue Anchor since 2009 and found it to be the best stopover in Maputo. The prices are spot on and food and bar facilities are of top quality and the beds offer you a good nights rest. Early morning departures are no problem and the hospitality of the highest ever. Well done to Lizz and co for my 'home' away from home while I am traveling in Mozambique.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tikas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good accomodation. My family and me stayed for two nigths in September. The room was spacious and comfortable, the security is eccellent: can park your car with all the luggages in complete peace of mind. The dinner was good, but not cheap, and also the staff (always supervised by the owners) really friendly. A good stopover before to leave for the north of Mozambique.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinaelenameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stopped as usual on our way from Vilankulos to South Africa and it was good to enjoy a dip in the pool, a few drinks and a great home cooked meal after a long hot journey. (The soups are great.) Thanks to Lizzy and Co for great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemima-jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

A big thank you to Liz for such a special place. Rooms were simple, clean, and air conditioned. Food was superb. As a special touch a flask of coffee was prepared to help us with our 4am start the next day. Looking forward to staying there during all future trips to and from Mozambique.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psbbank
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Most guests here are travelling further North in Mozambique, however what a lovely place to stop. The chalet is really comfortable, clean and secure. The food and drink are good too. Left the next morning both happy and refreshed. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psbbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
26.3 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 23 in Maputo
458 reviews
26.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
27.4 mi away
Mozguest Residence
Mozguest Residence
#9 of 41 in Maputo
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
The Quiet Corner Guest House
25.6 mi away
Sommerschield Guest House & Restaurant
27.5 mi away
Guesthouse 1109
Guesthouse 1109
#2 of 41 in Maputo
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Anchor Inn

Property: Blue Anchor Inn
Address: EN1 48,5 km | Bobole, Maputo 0000, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run lodge situated 50km north of Maputo. Safe, comfortable and affordable. Ideally located on the EN1 highway. An ideal overnight stop. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing