We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise.”
Review of Hotel Terminus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terminus
Ranked #3 of 42 Maputo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

They really ought to change the name of this hotel. When I told the name of the place where my room was reserved, I feared I'd enter but never leave. Instead it turned out to be a clean, quality, comfortable, friendly place at a far lower price relative to the usual suspects I usually stay at (Cardoso, Avenida, Southern Sun). It is more low key and relaxed, has internet (though I had trouble getting it to connect in-room). They are currently renovating so some of the decorative niceties are on hold, but critical facilities are all there. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 730108Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    54
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
2
6
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was here for two stays, with a couple of days in between. The first time my colleague and I had seperate bedrooms which were on the ground flour. Clean, basic, airco, unsecured wifi (closer to reception there is secured). Renovation still continuing by the way. Second time the hotel could not offer us seperate rooms, and instead gave us the suite. Since we're both female that wasn't a problem, and the suite -located on the 2nd floor- is more comfortable and has already been upgraded. It costed less this way as well. Renovation however starts early in the morning, so if you would like to go there with a romantic theme in mind, I would wait a while until renovations are done...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have to start by saying that when I visited Terminus last week, they were going through some renovations. Despite this fact, I found my stay at the hotel quite comfortable. The room was big enough, clean, with a nice window and the connection to internet was as good as you will get in Maputo. In addition to that, the bed was excellent. Terminus has also a nice terrace outside, and very large pool garden with an English-style pub. Breakfast was simply ok - not a lot of variety, to be honest, but the fruit was fresh and abundant. The staff was ok - neither too good or too bad.

The best thing about Terminus is its location. There are plenty of restaurants in a radius of a couple of blocks and the area is very safe. If you are working in Maputo, as I was, you can get a taxi and be in five-ten minutes in the Baixa or the central area. If you have meetings in the Julius Nyerere or the area of the embassies you can also be there in five minutes. I am coming back to Maputo at the end of October and I will definitely come back to the Terminus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel has a good location. The hotel is kind of old fashion and nothing special. Staff was friendly. Expensive ( as most hotels in Maputo), and the ground floor rooms need to be upgraded.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda031CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The hotel is in the avenues & within walking distance of restaurants and bars. It has a relaxed atmosphere with freindly, efficient staff. The one dinner I had there was excellent and the breakfasts were good. There were some renovations going on at the hotel which when finished will add to the hotel. Overall, a pleasant stay at affordable rates. A good alternative to some of the more expensive "business" hotels in Maputo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The staff at Hotel Terminus are lovley, and the rooms are great - roomy, clean and well decorated. It is situated on a peaceful street just off the main road. Breakfast was very tasty and the waiters were attentive and friendly. We were able to park our car in the locked parking area and turned up with a suspected flat tyre. The tyre was completely flat by the morning. We spoke to the manager (who speaks very good English) and before we could ask if there was any chance someone could help us changing it, we had a team of 4 men fixing it for us - and were ready to go by the time we had finished breakfast! Such a relief! We would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahJSWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.7 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
0.5 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#3 of 23 in Maputo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#5 of 23 in Maputo
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
#9 of 23 in Maputo
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus

Property: Hotel Terminus
Address: Av. Francisco Orlando Magubwe 587, Maputo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terminus 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing