We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, boutique hotel in great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse
Ranked #20 of 48 Maputo B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This 8 room boutique hotel is located in a colonial era house with good crisp original design sense that has been updated with good taste. The rooms are pleasant and spacious (with good quality linen, pillows and four post style mosquito net) and there is a comfortable lobby and a pool at the back.

The room rate covers a good internet connection in the rooms and breakfast that includes fresh fruit and ingredients and (just as important) good (espresso) coffee! Staff / service are of good standard and the price is reasonable by Maputo standards and represents good value. The location could not be better, at the quiet end of Nyerere but close / walking distance to all the good restaurants, bars, shops and embassies.

The Duqueza is a gem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 30 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have stayed at this delightful guesthouse at least 4-5 times in the last two years, usually for more than a week at a time while in Maputo on business. It is truly a wonderful place, located in a lovely part of Avenida Julius Nyerere, across from the Polana shopping mall and within walking distance of many great restaurants and shops. As a runner, I love the guesthouse's promixity to the popular running/walking strip of Avenida Friedrich Engels, a great place to view the sun rise or set any time of year.

The guesthouse itself offers an excellent breakfast (including delicious coffee, granola, eggs, and fresh fruit), a great little backyard pool for lying out in the sun, and the rooms are always clean and inviting (usually with excellent Wi-Fi). The staff is professional and kind (it helps to learn a few Portuguese phrases to communicate if you're a non-Lusophone), and the owner Denise is always warm and responsive to requests, and her English is excellent. On my last visit, she told me about the historic nature of the property dating from at least the early-20th century, an increasingly rare aspect in rapidly developing Maputo.

In summary, I highly recommend a stay for business or leisure at the Duqueza!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent a couple of nights there as we passed a weekend in Maputo before heading to the beach. The rooms were clean and just fine, nothing special and nothing to write home about. There were no other services really to mention from the hotel except I thought it was strange no one working there spoke any English. It would have been nice to have someone we could ask questions about restaurants or sights or getting a taxi but no assistance in that department.

The best element of the hotel, however, was the location. It was smack dab in the middle of a lot of interesting restaurants and bars and easy to get to different parts of town. Around the corner was the best chicken we've ever had and it was lovely to just around the neighborhood a bit to soak up the vibes of Maputo.

All in all, I would have voted a good rating except I thought it was pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchavezfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is on busy Museu. The nicest area in Maputo. Everything is close like Pirata and Polana Shoping and Piri Piri. At half price of other hotels I think this is the best. There is a swiming pool too if you want to swim on hot days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maibasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed Room 2 which is a front street facing room with balcony (a little noisy on weekends with traffic but still highly recommend it). Extremely clean and lovely place. Adjacent to Polana Shopping Centre (a good landmark when you can't speak portugese) and nice restaurants nearby Mundos (yummy pizza and a lively crowd on Friday night) and Bella Vista for lovely sushi. Denise was very helpful organising us a tuk tuk 1800 meticals per day to get out and about. Overall a pleasant time spent here.

Room Tip: Room 2 with big balcony especially if you smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've stayed in many places in Maputo but this is without doubt my new favourite. At half the cost of many of the hotels Duqeza is such a better choice on so many fronts. Personally I prefer to be in this area near Mundo's and the Italian restaurant (and others) and every other B&B is out of town...lots of taxi rides with drivers intent on ripping you off. And the hotels are OK, but just not worth $300 a night.
Duqeza is a little on the expensive side but for Maputo its the best value for money you will find. The rooms are lovely in and old colonial building. The breakfast is good. The service could improve a little as the staff can me a little less than enthusiastic...but other than this there can be no room to complain.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOzwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were a family group of 15! That included from my 80 year mother to my small 6 year niece. 11 of us stayed at Duqueza de Connaught while the other 4 in some other place that Denise, the italian woman that owns this guesthouse arranged for us. Everything was wonderful. After a hard trip from the Kruger and a couple of hours spent in customs and other boring stuff, this guesthouse cleanliness, beauty and warm was a wonderful relief... During all our stay Denise was very helpful, making by her own restaurant suggestions (and reservations), bringing electrical power outlet adaptors, and a long list of etceteras... Rooms were great, breakfast also, the pool was nice... All Mozambique seems expensive compared to Southafrica but, among Maputo options, I will recomend this one with enthusiasm. Ah! and it is hard to find a better neighbourhood to stay in this city: very central to main city attractions and surprinsingly quiet!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool are quieter. The one in the second floor has also a better view. But all ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloAlvarezF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
5.1 mi away
Guesthouse 1109
Guesthouse 1109
#1 of 48 in Maputo
65 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sommerschield Guest House & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Palmeiras Guest House
Palmeiras Guest House
#3 of 48 in Maputo
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0 mi away
Hotel Al-Khalil Machava
Hotel Al-Khalil Machava
#27 of 48 in Maputo
3 reviews
7.7 mi away
Catembe Beach Lodge
Catembe Beach Lodge
#4 of 20 in Maputo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse

Address: Av. Julius Nyerere, N0 290, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location on Av Julius Nyerere, walking distance to most restaurants and across Polana Shopping Center, DUQUEZA DE CONNAUGHT GUESTHOUSE offers 8 luxury rooms with ensuite bathroom, AC, Cable TV, Internet and swimming pool ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing