We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderfull cozy little place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 41 Maputo B&B and Inns
Ulm
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A wonderfull cozy little place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Guesthouse is in an old colonial style house at the very busy corner of Julius Nyrere and Av. 24th Julio, just opposite of Polana Mall and the famous Café Nautilus. A bit noisy but if the windows are closed its fine.
Rooms are immaculately furnished with really nice old wooden desks and chairs. My room had a very comfortable queen size bed, perfectly mounted mosquito nets on a frame above the bed and top quality linen. The bathroom was a bit small but with excellent sanitary equipment, wonderful soft towels and good quality amenities.
The room as the whole place is of top top quality which you have to look for in Maputo only in 4+ or 5* Hotels.
The breakfast was served as a nice small but perfectly equipped buffet. Eggs and Bacon to the order with sausage if you whished so and toast. Very good selection of fresh fruits with mango, papaya pineapple, Marracuja and others. All in all a very good experience. The price for one night at 3.200 MZN wasn’t cheap but definitively worth the services offered.
The place has its own security guards and cars can be parked inside.

Room Tip: I stayed at room Nr. 1 first floor. Its directly out to the front and to Julius Nyrere Av. that mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merckens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
8
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sesto San Giovanni, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose Residential Duquesa looking at the references on tripadvisor.
Its size so familiar convinced us to book.
And so it was: comfortable, great room and a large bathroom, a fabulous breakfast and the staff exquisitely attentive to our needs.
To the owner Denise our thanks for the welcome and attention to us!!!
Gabriella e Davide

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabri58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely guesthouse, reasonably priced (for Maputo), with comfortable room, pool, and sparkling bathroom. Good breakfast and helpful staff!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dido7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Wonderful location and beautiful accommodations. A place where you can enjoy while staying in Maputo. Clean, spacious and nice room (stylish). Good breakfast too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csgarcia2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Chipo Zim

We stayed at this B & B over the Dec 2011 holiday and we are grateful we found the place. Denise was ever soo helpful and accomodating. Although English is an issue the staff were friendly and did their best to communicate and explain things to us. The place is clean, well maintained and quiet. Breakfast is good and it is central to a lot of the activities in Maputo. We travelled as girls only so security was a real issue for us. The place is very safe. When I do return to Maputo i will def call on this B& B again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great location and beautiful accommodations. We did however think it was a bit pricey and that the staff could have been a bit more helpful/available. Perhaps it was a language barrier but the girl at the reception didn't seem too keen on trying to answer our questions and we felt like we were bothering her. All in all it was a nice, clean, quiet and safe place to stay and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I agree with the other reviews that this B & B is in a great location and the room was really nice with a canopied bed and a balcony. The lobby area is beautiful. My issue is with the service (or should I say lack of service). The lady I'd been communicating with didn't stay on-site and would show up now and then. I wanted to book some local tours and get an idea of what activities there were. The lady at reception pretty well ignored me. No one spoke English and my attempts at communication got me nowhere. They called the owner who showed up briefly in the evening to help me out. I accept that you can't always expect English speaking people in Africa but....this is a tourist B & B. I've stayed at places all over the world and this was the worse service I've had. The other negative is the price - pretty expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
4.7 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.1 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mozguest Residence
Mozguest Residence
#9 of 41 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sommerschield Guest House & Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Palmeiras Guest House
Palmeiras Guest House
#4 of 41 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse

Property: Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse
Address: Av. Julius Nyerere, N0 290, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location on Av Julius Nyerere, walking distance to most restaurants and across Polana Shopping Center, DUQUEZA DE CONNAUGHT GUESTHOUSE offers 8 luxury rooms with ensuite bathroom, AC, Cable TV, Internet and swimming pool ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing