We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse
Ranked #20 of 41 Maputo B&B and Inns
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great B&B!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Wonderful location and beautiful accommodations. A place where you can enjoy while staying in Maputo. Clean, spacious and nice room (stylish). Good breakfast too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csgarcia2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
8
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harare
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Chipo Zim

We stayed at this B & B over the Dec 2011 holiday and we are grateful we found the place. Denise was ever soo helpful and accomodating. Although English is an issue the staff were friendly and did their best to communicate and explain things to us. The place is clean, well maintained and quiet. Breakfast is good and it is central to a lot of the activities in Maputo. We travelled as girls only so security was a real issue for us. The place is very safe. When I do return to Maputo i will def call on this B& B again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great location and beautiful accommodations. We did however think it was a bit pricey and that the staff could have been a bit more helpful/available. Perhaps it was a language barrier but the girl at the reception didn't seem too keen on trying to answer our questions and we felt like we were bothering her. All in all it was a nice, clean, quiet and safe place to stay and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I agree with the other reviews that this B & B is in a great location and the room was really nice with a canopied bed and a balcony. The lobby area is beautiful. My issue is with the service (or should I say lack of service). The lady I'd been communicating with didn't stay on-site and would show up now and then. I wanted to book some local tours and get an idea of what activities there were. The lady at reception pretty well ignored me. No one spoke English and my attempts at communication got me nowhere. They called the owner who showed up briefly in the evening to help me out. I accept that you can't always expect English speaking people in Africa but....this is a tourist B & B. I've stayed at places all over the world and this was the worse service I've had. The other negative is the price - pretty expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Its not easy to find a good accommodation in Maputo. This place was a pleasant surprise with reasonable price. Breakfast is nice too, even though if you dont speak portuguese you dont always get what you want! Internet a bit pricy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathelaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I must after driving to Maputo via Matola i did not know what to expect but i have to tell you i thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Duqueza. In fact one of my best nights in Maputo was in the hotel. Friendly staff. Great rooms and right on the doorstep of a busy julius Nyerere. The big balcony in my room overlooking the street was awesome with some 2M. I loved it my lady loved it and i would definitely recommend it. Ask for room 2 if you can. Obrigado!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 i tell you. If they put two chairs and a braai stand on that balcony you have a 100% winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsokolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2011

What a gem! Duqueza is definitely the place to stay when visiting Maputo. Centrally located, it not only offers clean and beautiful rooms, it also provides a great place to unwind after a hectic day around the city.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
4.1 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mozguest Residence
Mozguest Residence
#10 of 41 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lokal 2896 Guest House
Lokal 2896 Guest House
#14 of 41 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sommerschield Guest House & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#2 of 41 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse

Property: Duqueza de Connaught Guesthouse
Address: Av. Julius Nyerere, N0 290, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location on Av Julius Nyerere, walking distance to most restaurants and across Polana Shopping Center, DUQUEZA DE CONNAUGHT GUESTHOUSE offers 8 luxury rooms with ensuite bathroom, AC, Cable TV, Internet and swimming pool ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing