We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very quite, clean and cheap place. The staff are very polite, helpful and friendly. It is just a home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Quiet Corner Guest House
Ranked #11 of 41 Maputo B&B and Inns
abuja
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A very quite, clean and cheap place. The staff are very polite, helpful and friendly. It is just a home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I was there for three days in May 2011 to attend a conference on Africa's Hydro Resources . I was able to make contact with the Director via e-mail from Nigeria and he arranged a pick up vehicle right from the airport and also made arrangement for our transportation throughout our three days.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sharfAbuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
9
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

A bit of a hidden oasis!! I stayed here on my last night in Mozambique - small, quiet, clean and nicely furnished. Much better value than the other guesthouse I'd stayed at previously. The staff couldn't be more helpful - from picking us up, taking bags to our rooms, giving directions, booking transport...nothing was too much trouble. It's not in the most central spot in Maputo but is a cheap cab ride to the shopping/restaurants etc.. Oh, and free wifi (that actually works!) Lovely.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

I am a frequent traveler. My concern has always been finding a place where I can find some comfort, peace, hygiene, security, friendly staff, accessibility to transport, reasonable price, and a place to eat and shop. In Maputo, Mozambique, I found everything in Quiet Corner Guest House. Not just 2 or 3 of my criteria but all of the above, so to speak. Upon arrival at the airport end January this year (2011), a tall, white, English-speaking guy named Andrea helped me with my luggage and drove me to the Guest House. He turned out to be the owner of the guest house and he’s Italian.

I stayed in the Guest House for over two months enjoying fresh towels and bed sheets every so often and everything you normally find in an expensive hotel but without the intimidating formal atmosphere. I particularly liked the home atmosphere, the staff and guard that I could have conversation with and the couple-owners who were so concerned about our comfort and needs. I have never seen Guest House owners as kind and as friendly like them. If I wanted authentic pizza, they served it right in the kitchen which was always open for guests for free breakfast or coffee anytime or for own cooking. Next time I visit Maputo, no more searching, no more asking, no more surfing the internet. It’s definitely Quiet Corner Guest House. Henry Ruiz

Room Tip: The room at the back is more quite with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henryruiz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

My colleague and I stayed for three nights at the Quiet Corner Guest House. The rooms and bathrooms were comfortable and very clean. The neighborhood was quiet and conveniently located. The only complaint I had was that the breakfast wasn't that great. Other than that I would highly recommend the Quiet Corner Guest House.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avaebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.0 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mozguest Residence
Mozguest Residence
#9 of 41 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sommerschield Guest House & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#15 of 41 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quiet Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quiet Corner Guest House

Property: The Quiet Corner Guest House
Address: Rua Almeida Garret, N 40 | Coop Bairro, Maputo CP 116, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Quiet Corner Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in a refined residential area. With four different rooms, for guests with different exigencies. Easy to reach from the Maputo International Airport, the house is at walking distance from supermarkets, restaurants and a taxi spot. The house caters for the needs of those staying in Maputo for a few days, willing to enjoy the comfort and most of the services offered in a hotel but at a more affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quiet Corner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing