We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool club”

Bar Lounge & Restaurante 1908
Ranked #19 of 158 Restaurants in Maputo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“cool club”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a lot of trouble getting a table outside as there is a strange policy about drinking cocktails not (expensive) good wine so we eventually went inside. The atmosphere is nicer outside but the decor and miami vice lighting is amusing indoors. The restaurant is good in the courtyard and worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    54
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“in the last century”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I went today and its still a restaurant but also a bar, excelent decoration and outdoor "esplanada"
worth a visit

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luisc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Now a bar but been shut down”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place is now a bling bling bar with tackie lights. First time I went I thought I was in Atlantic City. Second time it had been shut down by the police. It seems to be in big problems as now owners are requesting help from French Embassy

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just the building...”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

this house was built for the minster of health in 1908, it was neglected for a bit but it has recently begun to be restored and houses a restaurant on the first floor! I have not been there to eat but the house itself is looking very nice and I expect its charm will soon call many to its restaurant!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYCmeetsMaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with good food”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

It is an antique-style restaurant which was a major appeal to my eyes. The food here was great, especially the traditional Mozambican plates. Don't miss a chance to visit this great place!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ritesh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Lounge & Restaurante 1908 also viewed

Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 
Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 
Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 

Been to Bar Lounge & Restaurante 1908? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing