We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Helpful Staff”
Review of The Base

The Base
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Base
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Maputo
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Helpful Staff”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed at this hostel last August for a few days. Very simple with lack of hot water for showering at times. Definitely not a party hostel which was what I liked about this place. The staff members spoke English fluently and they knew pretty much everything that I needed to know about Maputo and whole Mozambique (Indeed, you make sure you carry your passport with a valid visa at all times when you walk around Maputo!)
I've only rated average - three stars, but this place is probably better than all the other budget accommodation in Maputo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AirEsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed a night in fatimas (the worst backpacker place ever) we spent 2 nights here and it was so much better.

Clean dorms and bathrooms, as well as a well equipped kitchen make this a great budget place to stay (to make up for the African prices, although it is the cheapest in Maputo)

Helpful staff as well.

Only thing missing is mosquito nets...being your own!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SWJ-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very little to fault about this place. Location is very central, and perfect for walking around town. Dorms and all facilities are clean. Kitchen is decently stocked, with free tea and coffee. By Mozambique standards, it's very good - and reasonably priced (albeit expensive for southern Africa generally). I think the main strength is the staff. They're incredibly helpful, and can offer really good advice on Maputo - including maps, taxi bookings etc. Compared to the apathy you often get at large hostels their attitude is brilliant.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

stayed here in dorm room for two nights. We liked the location, which is excellent, smack in the center. The balcony with a view, friendly receptionists, lounge area and a kind of trust based fridge system give the place a homey feel. Baths and toilets were clean, and not too crowded, and the walls were full of information on everything from where to go in the city, so safaris in SA.
One thing you should know, and wasn't made well known, is that when they arrange for a chapa (we took one to Tofo), it's not a tourist thing, but a regular chapa that merely picks you up VERY early, simply to go to the main chapa station north of town to pick up more passengers there (and perhaps wait a few hours for them to arrive). I don't know what the locals pay, but I'm sure you could easily do this on your own for less, and not have to wake up at 2am.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gil_fruchter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went here after a not-great experience at Fatima's, and WOW, it was so much better. Up to the standards of some of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Nice dorm rooms, bathrooms. Everything was sparkling clean. There was a lounge to hang out in and even a washing machine. There was also a nice terrace to eat breakfast in.

And considering the price was pretty much the same as the other worse backpackers in the area, this was a stellar deal!

This is the place to book if you're looking for a backpackers in Maputo!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Base is probably the best backpacker you can find in Maputo. It's very well located and the price is reasonable considering the country standards. Our double bedroom was clean and so were the rest of the facilities. The staff is also very helpful. We have the impression that the best double room is perhaps the one on the first floor, so make sure you ask for that one if you book in advance. We booked a transfer to Tofo but the driver that worked for The Base took us to the bus in the last place so we there were no proper seats left and we had to head to Junta and find our way (which we easily did). We discussed this with the staff at The Base and perhaps they've solved it. Anyway, going to Junta bus station is a good and cheap option also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AstridMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Base is by far one of the cheapest places to stay in Maputo, which is a city seemingly lacking in infrastructure and struggling to keep up with demand for accommodation of foreigners. As such, hotel prices can be sky-high. The Base is one place to stay that wont cost the earth. The backpacker-friendly staff and decent communal facilities make it an acceptable place to stay for a couple of nights. The location is excellent, very close to some good shops and restaurants and also some excellent live music venues where you can meet some locals. I think compared to elsewhere in Maputo The Base is clean, although it is still not fantastic compared with western standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#5 of 22 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Africa Business
Hotel Africa Business
#10 of 22 in Maputo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.6 mi away
Catembe Packer's Lodge
Catembe Packer's Lodge
#4 of 16 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Quiet Corner Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Base

Property: The Base
Address: Avenue Patrice Lumumba 545, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Maputo
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing