We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the better places”
Review of Zambi

Zambi
Ranked #1 of 154 Restaurants in Maputo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant specialized in seafood and fish, with an esplanade in front of the sea.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the better places”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Zambi is set up with both inside and outside tables - sit inside if you're having a business lunch, it gets relatively noisy outside. The good is great - absolutely fantastic seafood and the the petit gateaux is to die for. Some say its expensive - unfortunately most restaurants in Maputo are pricey. Great for lunches and dinners.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neeb_Neeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    320
    66
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
579 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Pricey, but good”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This review considers that we're talking about Mozambique, so the rating here is not relative to a NY restaurant.
I went there in my bday and the place is cozy, although not sophisticated. Seafood is really good (we had lagostins and they were yammy) and they try their best to bring the plates with a nice presentation.
They have a good wine list, with mostly south african wines.
Service is slow, as in many places in Mozambique and waiters won't be able to give you any suggestion.
Rich Maputo families, expats and tourists go there - and I think is the best place in the city. But it's really, really expensive for what you get (NY good restaurants price).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great food let down BT waiter asking for tip before we oaid”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We had been looking forward to coming here as had heard a lot about the tiger prawns. We booked and left a phone number..when we turned up it was closed as there had been a small unrest in other part of city. They could have called
So we go back next night...great atmosphere. Outside tables noisy from the beat boxes over the road on the beach..the loacl scene.. Inside cool and quiet with prompt service..nit smiling like at the Naval .,businesslike. Obviously a great. Money earner..you can buy souvenirs. Food terrific...ESP the huge prawns..the best ever..so we were very happy..paid the bill by credit card and had a generous cash tip ready to eave at the table. The waiter complained we hadn't left him a tip before we had a chance to do so..so we took it home.. Sad really.
So great food but I like the staff and service at the less grasping Club Naval far better

Helpful?
Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Prawns”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

As with the rest of Africa, service was slow and we waited over 30min for our cocktails. Our prawns were absolutely amazing and huge so I would highly recommend them, though not if I was paying for them myself, as we paid roughly $70 for 3 tiger prawns (maybe we got ripped off??)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Moomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

One of our favourite restaurants in Maputo. Food is always EXCELLENT. A bit pricey, but there is no compromise on quality! Try the granadilla sangria. Most favourite dessert - Petit Gateaux

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicqi_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zambi also viewed

Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 
Maputo, Maputo Province
 

Been to Zambi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing