We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

first time i have stayed at any Radisson and was very impressed. the service when we arrived was friendly and efficient. the room is wonderfully laid out, clean and has all the little touches that make it that little bit more luxurious. the bathroom has ceiling to floor glass and the view to the sea was amazing.

the restaurant is quite expensive, to the point of being over priced, however the meal and service were both very good.

free wi-fi is a definite must for me and there was availability continuously. we also required working space, which we comfortably used in the coffee area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Marisi,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We look forward to your next stay.
Please like us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 584 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was very excited to try out the Radisson but was very disappointed. The rooms on first take look impressive how ever on closer inspection are already in need of general repair. Safe did not work, cupboard broken. Service slow and restaurant completely over priced - eat across the road for excellent seafood at half the price. Great view however cannot wait for my usual spot the Southern Sun across the road to re-open!

Room Tip: Request a room from the 5th floor up facing the sea to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shelley-Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Shelley,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review.
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room.
Our technical department works very hard at maintaining our hotel as good as new. However we do understand that with the daily use, some wear may go unnoticed unless reported.
We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson Blu Hotel standards. To discuss your stay further, please provide us your details and we will contact you.
We hope to welcome you back again soon and make up for the inconveniences of your previous stay.
Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced and the service was terrible. They could not even provide towel for the room. Do not recommend this place to anyone there are better in Maputo. There is not a variety of food and most of the locals come to stay here. The management does not seem to care since they are getting international customers and forget that everyone staying there is a customer. The rooms are very noisy because of the new construction next to the building. If you must stay here get a room facing the water.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Terry,

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us.
Our menu is diverse however we do understand that it may not please everyone.
We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the inconvenience.
The rooms are sound proof to minimize sound disturbances. The construction site next to be hotel does not run overnight, providing the guests a peaceful sleep.
We will check what happen to your towels, your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future.
We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again. My management team and I do care about each and every guest.

Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed in the Radisson Blu on business in May. The staff where helpful and the room was clean and well appointed. By far the best aspect was breakfast- easily the best I've had in Africa.

A couple of very fine details of criticism: The hotel pool is on a side of the hotel that only gets sunshine until noon. The rest of the day it is in the shade. Also, the wasn't much atmosphere in the hotel bars of an evening. Better crossing the road to one of the beach bars, which were more lively.

Tip: You only get 2 small bottles of water in your room each day. A couple of hundred Mets to the maid and I could have bathed in bottled water for the rest of the week!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your impressions of our hotel.
My staff and I thank you for the compliments on the service. Our bars do get lively and busy pending on weekdays, city and internal events.
The minibar is filled upon request at the front desk and water can be purchased via room service or the restaurant.

We surely hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed at Radisson on my 3rd stop in East Africa. Definitely a hotel of world class which was a treat.

To get to the airport simply as for a driver from the hotel to pick you up. Otherwise you will be ripped by shady taxies at the airport especially if you are arriving late. There are no taxi meters in this country! The hotel should be able to arrange safe and comfortable transfer at USD 25 (MTC 700) whereas the black cabs will charge you abt USD 30-35 (MTC 1000-1200).

The hotel is nice and modern with extremely friendly staff and fast efficient service. The rooms are designer with ocean view. There is a kettle and espresso machine. No ironing board in the room though...

Small gym (Technogym) on the 1st floor open 24 hrs. Compact but sufficient. Not crowded either.

Food: Breakfast and dinner tops all I have had during travelling in East Africa. 5 stars, no worries.

Room Tip: Had room 210. Still with ocean view but higher levels should be much better. So go with 410-1010 ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosferatu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Nosferatu82,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our hotel shuttle is indeed cheaper and more conformable than the comparable alternatives; as well as having the added benefit of free internet inside the car.
Ironing board and iron are available through one touch service which is just a phone call away.
We thank you for the compliments to our friendliness and food.


We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Exceeded my expectations,modern and great service overall....clean.friendly staff.for the first time in my visit to hotels,they did not insist on my credit card before i can stay.i hate this condition when travelling abroad,even with a fully paid stay,they still insist on ua credit card.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Joey,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

My team and I thank you for the kind words on hour hard work.
We strive to make every guests stay a pleasant one.

Hoping to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I had an excellent stay at this hotel aided by the warm welcom from the security gate all the way to the restuarant. House keeping services and hospitality was impeccable. I would not hesitate to refer this hotel to a friend anywhere in the world. The food quality and sleeping quality and in room entertainment are all excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Ernest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Ernest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are glad that you had pleasant stay and felt our Yes I Can! spirit of service throughout.
My staff and I thank you for the kind words.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maputo
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
532 reviews
1 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
581 reviews
2.5 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#7 of 23 in Maputo
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Catembe Gallery Hotel
Catembe Gallery Hotel
#1 of 1 in Catembe
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#5 of 23 in Maputo
204 reviews
2 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo

Address: Avenida da Marginal 141, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range: $176 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A sense of class!" Is what will sets the new Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo apart from the rest bringing new international standards for travelers to Mozambique's capital. Guests will find the hotel & residence a tranquil oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Maputo though near the city center with world-class amenities including elegant guest rooms, suites, apartments, superb dining options in the world renowned 'Filini' restaurant, newly arrived Azul restaurant, pool and gym, state-of-the-art conference facilities and sought after private parking places for 150 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing