We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst service ever!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Hotel decor is nice as it is a new hotel, however the service is the worst i have ever experienced in a 5 star hotel, best way to describe the service is very slow very rude and if you get what you ordered or asked for it's a miracle... all in all a terrible experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, EAM at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Nickdunne,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience at our hotel.

We regret that you had a negative experience at our hotel, and would like to offer our sincere apologies. If you have a moment to share details of your experience you are welcome to contact me at carien.veldman@radissonblu.com.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations!

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    200
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
20
62
12
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is still very new so everything still feels fresh and clean.

The hotel is situated in the middle of some wasteland and across a busy road from the beach. There is a lot of construction going on around the hotel (apartments and offices being built). The noise didn’t bother me although I was not in the hotel during the day.

The rooms are not large but adequate and a separate shower and bath is welcome. The bath is in the middle of the room and the shower in a separate cubicle. Floor to ceiling glass windows in a nice touch.

Good wifi connection and also free which is good.

The breakfast buffet was excellent – great choice and good quality products.

The bar area was busy in the evening but has a nice inside / outside area.

The pool area is also nice although due to the wind I didn’t see anyone sit by the pool.

A couple of good restaurants are within walking distance on the beach – not fancy but very good seafood at good prices. My preference was Sagres (5 minute safe walk from hotel) which was excellent.

The hotel shuttle bus to the airport charges (per person) almost double that of a private taxi which can be arranged by the hotel…..crazy!

Room Tip: Most rooms apart from about 6 per floor are sea-facing to some degree so if you don't book a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loungeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, EAM at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Loungeseeker,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you like our rooms, wi-fi and bars, I hope that you had a chance to taste one our barman's Caiperinhas!

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel, should your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This new modern hotel stands out against the backdrop of the traditional buildings in Maputo. This high rise is located across from the beach front ( not sure that I would swim in the ocean though) but the views of the ocean are great.
The rooms are modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. The room is well equipped. The bed is extremely comfortable with great quality linen. Interesting open plan bathroom ....bath is incorporated into the room and has a frosted glass partitioning that separates from the bedroom - but has separate shower and toilette cubical.
Breakfast was adequate although service levels could be improved.
Reception staff were friendly and efficient.
We ate at the beach front restaurant across from the hotel - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, EAM at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear KimCL,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

Hope to welcome you back to our hotel when your travels bring you back to the City of Acacias!

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on business and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is out of the city which is a good thing for me! Clean, stylish and friendly team. Make sure you make it for breakfast and try the Tiramisu both are excellent!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Michael G,

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your week in Maputo.
We hope to see you back if your travels ever bring you back to Mozambique!

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
EAM
Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Rather boring hotel - but for Maputo maybe one if the hotels they have. A good smile good make a difference... Service could improve. Many waiters but nobody knows what's going on. Pasta for lunch and salad for dinner blend very well in to the boring atmosphere of the hotel. But of course for one night absolutely fine.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Andrea V,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very disappointed that you did not find our hotel exciting enough. We will be introducing a new menu in Filini Restaurant during November - I hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again in future, to have your feedback on the new menu.
Thank you for your comments regarding service, we are constantly working to improve service levels and would appreciate your feedback if you have any specific areas that we can improve on. You are welcome to contact me directly at carien.veldman@radissonblu.com

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
EAM
Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is a very good hotel. European standards mainly. May be a little bit overpriced and could improve in some management details. The minibar is empty unless you ask for someone to fill it up . You cannot drink water at night in a 300$ room unless you give an extra prepayment at the arrival and nobody tells you.
Anyway it is a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, EAM at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear JuanFernMadrid,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and apologize that you were not fully informed about the pre-authorization/deposit required on check-in. It is definitely something that we will look into to correct!

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been visiting Maputo for several years and it has been crying out for a good business hotel with great service. The newly opened Radisson Blu does not disappoint. The front desk staff are simply world class, warm, welcoming and professional. The check in process was fast and efficient, and from the moment I arrived to the moment I left the service was outstanding...and I am quite a fussy traveller. The rooms are clean and functional, but not spectacular, however, the sea facing views are spectacular.

The complimentary internet was fast and a welcome surprise compared to other Maputo hotels. I had room service and ate in one of the restaurants and the food was good, but perhaps a bit more effort could be made to improve the menu selection and the standards. The Oceano Bar on the first floor is a great place to wind down after a long day and they have an extensive drinks selection.

Management have done an exceptional job training the staff and should be commended. This is my new home in Maputo.

Room Tip: For the best views choose a high floor and an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phantomreviewer280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Phantomreviewer280,

Thank you for the great review!

We appreciate the wonderful feedback about the Front Office staff and trainig, we will certainly pass it on to the team.

We will be introducing our new Filini menu in November, I hope that you will enjoy the new menu selection and look forward to your comments!

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
EAM
Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
470 reviews
1.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
548 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#4 of 23 in Maputo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#6 of 23 in Maputo
346 reviews
2.0 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
2.5 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#7 of 23 in Maputo
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
Address: Avenida da Marginal 141, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A sense of class!" Is what will sets the new Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo apart from the rest bringing new international standards for travelers to Mozambique's capital. Guests will find the hotel & residence a tranquil oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Maputo though near the city center with world-class amenities including elegant guest rooms, suites, apartments, superb dining options in the world renowned 'Filini' restaurant, newly arrived Azul restaurant, pool and gym, state-of-the-art conference facilities and sought after private parking places for 150 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing