We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is new and as such is clean, modern and has a very nice atmosphere. The breakfast and lunch buffet are good as is the coffee bar. The rooms are very clean, modern and comfortable. The bathrooms feature bath tubs, walk in showers and separate toilets. There is good internet and air conditioning. The location is good and there is a fun local family restaurant across the street on the beach. The gym is minimal but open 24 hours and has the basics.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (I stayed on 9) from 5 - 12 had nice ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroundtheworld03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, EAM at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Aroundtheworld03,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are delighted that you liked our rooms, breakfast and Palmeira Lounge.

Hope to see you back soon if your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    193
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
19
62
12
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at the hotel.
The staff are good, really try to cater to your needs/ requests and the service is good.
Its a fairly new hotel with great rooms, though i did not like the 'open' bathtub.
They have a wide selection for breakfast, and the food tastes great too.
I liked their complete dark curtains, they allow no light and very good if one needs to sleep during the day.

Fast internet, well equipped gym and several different places you can lounge.

The best part was the fruits that are available at the reception for your enjoyment - that is such a nice touch to an already lovely hotel.

Will stay there again.

Room Tip: try to get the rooms that face the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, EAM at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Susan N,

We appreciate your review!
It is wonderful that you enjoy the fruit at reception, breakfast, fast internet and gym.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the open plan bathrooms. Some of our twin bedded rooms have higher glass partitions, should you wish to have one of these rooms for your next stay you are welcome to let us know when making your reservation.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again, should your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind Regards
Carien Veldman
Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I almost live out of a suitcase and have been working around Africa now in my 9th year. This Hotel while new and the staff still learning is a refreshing effort and something the staff can be proud of.

Definitely a cut above te other hotels in town and highly reccommend it.

Try to contact direct for best rates as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldinwestafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel when your travel brings you to this area.

Kind regards

Vânia Matola
Guest Relations Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I booked a night at Radisson Blu in Maputo, when I checked out the following morning I forgot my gold ring in a hotel suite and I came back the same day to look for it and it was gone. they found a facewash that I left but my ring disappeared and when I laid a complaint they told me that I "unfortunately misplaced my ring in a hotel suite", what are chances of misplacing something and not ever find it in a hotel suite?

Room Tip: Choose a seaview to avoid overlooking a construction sight at the back.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nhlanhla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, EAM at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Nhlanhla N,

We regret that you had this negative experience and that you misplaced your wedding ring.
Your wife mentioned this in a previous review and we refer back to our response to her. Since your stay we have been in contact with you and searched for the ring extensively, we are very dissapointed that we were not able to find it.

It was extremely difficult to determine whether the ring had been left in the room despite our security team's thorough investigation. The toiletry product that you left in the room was found as we reported telephonically, we would be delighted to send it to you via mail.

The safety and security of our guests and their belongings are extremely important to us and an in room safe is provided for valuables.

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this fairly new hotel for 2 nights.
Check in was friendly,fast and efficient.
The Room allocated to me on the 8th floor was excellent.
Restaurant also good but menu very limited . Quality of the food was good.
The only negative comment I have is that the service for breakfast was awful. I sat at a table for two that needed cleaning ( plates there from previous guest) By the time I'd finished my otherwise excellent breakfast the plates were still there ! There appeared to be a serious shortage of breakfast staff.
I would definitely stay at Radisson blu again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Tony

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Radisson Blu Hotel Maputo.
Thank you very much for your review.
We are very happy that the room allocated to you made your stay more enjoyable.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the service breakfast . The hotel is new and we doing our best to improve the service.

Hope that you get the chance to stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards

Vânia Matola
Guest Relations Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givat Shmuel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

this is a great hotel. it is very new, opened less than 1 year ago. The staff are great, and the general manager is available for the customers if something is wrong, or if you need something that isnt a standard service of a hotel. the view from the room is great. the pool area is wonderful. this indeed is one of the best hotels one can find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yonirich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Yonirich,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that our pool area and the view from your room made your stay more enjoyable, hope that you get the chance to stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
Front Office Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A stunning looking new hotel in Maputo , with decent size rooms,and a awesome view. The hotel is very well situated and close to the central business hub of Maputo . I found the restaurant menu to be very limited after a few days and the hotel is , although visually stunning , the whole hotel comes across as very impersonal . Great for a Business trip , but not as a holiday venue!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarienVeldman, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear WarrenJohannesburg,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the rooms and the view.
I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit our hotel again in summer, our Pool Bar and Pool area will be warm and sunny - just the place to relax in the Maputo heat!

Kind Regards

Carien Veldman
Front Office Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Maputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#5 of 22 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Africa Business
Hotel Africa Business
#10 of 22 in Maputo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.5 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#8 of 22 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.0 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
Address: Avenida da Marginal 141, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A sense of class!" Is what will sets the new Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo apart from the rest bringing new international standards for travelers to Mozambique's capital. Guests will find the hotel & residence a tranquil oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Maputo though near the city center with world-class amenities including elegant guest rooms, suites, apartments, superb dining options in the world renowned 'Filini' restaurant, newly arrived Azul restaurant, pool and gym, state-of-the-art conference facilities and sought after private parking places for 150 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing