We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fatima's Place Maputo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fatima's Place Maputo
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Maputo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

After having read some horrifying reviews about this place we had gone with the expectation of being there just for the night. However our stay was actually very pleasant that we ended up staying for 3 nights.

Overall the reviews made have some truth to them but I personally having been there believe some of the bad reviews are exaggerated.

Relax vibe, and friendly staff.
Only low point is the WIFI was down the whole time of our stay.

Beyond that all the other glitches aren't worth mentioning.
Would go back again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothyMokale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    40
    46
    31
    42
See reviews for
6
45
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Best place in Mozambique.
Great place, great people and they have a pick up that actualy works.
I stayed for 3 days in a dorm room very clean and not far from showers.
Night life in Maputo is amazing, and the staff know all about it.
By the way i notice that they have air condicion on the suit rooms, thats is where i am going to stay on my way back from Fatimas in tofo, because is soo hot that a fan is not enough lol.
Better rates chamge your money in the bank.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Xidaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

1) They are very helpful with the visa situation. They email you the confirmation you need to get a visa. Yes, you have to email them 15 times. Yes, it takes longer than you think it should but hey, you get your reservation via computer (!) which is very good for Mozambique. Also, consider the fact that they are a business and they don't have a way to take your room deposit in advance because of how things are in Mozambique. Just imagine how many people email them every day, how many people cancel, how many people don't show up. It's just amazing to me they still manage to operate without taking the first night deposit.

2) They pick you up from the airport, bus station etc. For free. You feel safe. Yes, sometimes you have to wait for an hour or maybe they'll forget about you. Just call them. Communication is everything.

3) You can exchange your money at the hostel. The exchange rate is ok (good for them, bad for you) but again, it's very convenient. Just don't change a lot of money when you get there, exchange some to get you through a day or two and then go to the bank to get a better rate.

4) Rooms are ok. They have beds and mosquito nets. No, they don't have a cable TV. Sorry about that =)

5) Bathrooms are ok. Not the cleanest. Showers don't always have hot water. But hey, guess what - you can use the toilet for what you need to use it for and you can take a shower (even if the water cold).

Conclusion: haters will hate, lovers will love. This place is an adventure, it's up to what attitude you choose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina_20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Initial signs were promising, the email contact was excellent and the person who picked us up from the airport (for free) was excellent

The rooms are fine. It's clean and decent. But the rest of the staff, bar the guy who did the airport pick up, were really unfriendly.

It has so much potential, but spoilt by staff who don't want to be there

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MikeD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Ignoring the fact that its stupidly overpriced, because it would be rubbish for somewhere 1/4 of the price, this place is terrible for backpackers.

Firstly, they told us over about 3 emails that they'd pick us up from the airport and then denied all knowledge of it when no-one turned up and we'd paid for an overpriced taxi.

Our room was ok on first glance but there was mouse poo in the bed and cockroaches everywhere.

Staff are unhelpful as well; they booked us the bus to tofo, and then knocked on our door at 9pm telling us it was cancelled. We had to book a flight but their wi fi was down. Under no circumstances were we allowed to use their staff Internet, even though the receptionist was on Facebook. We had to pay for a taxi to take us to an expensive Internet cafe.

Places for backpackers are meant to be friendly, helpful and aware of people on a budget and helping them in an urgent situation. Painting somewhere bright colours does not make a backpackers place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SWJ-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maputo hotels

Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Fatima in Maputo is very useful because they answer very quickly to your e mails for booking and visa form. The employees are welcoming. The shuttle to and from Tofo is very useful too. Neverteless I got a private room downstairs and the noise of all the backpackers speaking in the yard will not let you sleep. Furthermore the price is too expensive for the quality. For the same price in an other hotel in Tofo I got a bungalow directly on the beach with private bathroom whith queen size bed. In Fatima, a small room without bathroom and no toilets and 2 single beds. If you re here to meet backpackers Fatima is the good place but if you re here to sleep in good conditions it is not.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

After spending quite a lot of money for a really nice B&B in Maputo, we wanted to save a bit and came to Fatima's. PLEASE do not think about saving your money and spending your nights at fatima's, since it's not worth! Rooms are pricey for what you get - small, dirty rooms, bathroom was smelling terrible! We were happy to spend only one night in this terrible place. The only nice thing is that the outside area is nice to have a drink or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.9 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.4 mi away
Catembe Packer's Lodge
Catembe Packer's Lodge
#2 of 15 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mozguest Residence
Mozguest Residence
#9 of 41 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Al-Khalil Machava
Hotel Al-Khalil Machava
#30 of 41 in Maputo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Quiet Corner Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatima's Place Maputo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatima's Place Maputo

Property: Fatima's Place Maputo
Address: Mao Tse Tung Ave, Maputo 1317, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Maputo
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Fatima`s Place Maputo Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing