We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST seafood, ever!”

Sagres Shellfish Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 161 Restaurants in Maputo
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“The BEST seafood, ever!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I had travelled to Maputo for a quick weekend trip for my birthday and after looking through TA, decided to go to Sagres for Saturday lunch as we were in the mood for seafood. We absolutely loved this restaurant!! It is very quirky, quintessentially Mozambican, but more importantly, we had the best seafood we've ever had before. You have to try the clams to start - a huge bucketload which will have you licking your fingers - and then we had the house speciality of the grilled seafood platter (not the 'boiled' one) which had the most amazing array of shellfish and fish, all exceptionally fresh and delicious. Your visit to Maputo is not complete until you visit Sagres. Highly recommended by us and we have been lucky enough to have eaten seafood all over the world. Also, the cost is very, very reasonable for what you actually get. Loved it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    216
    83
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville,Fl
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Sea Food you can Eat in Maputo!!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My second trip to Maputo, and a must to go and eat at Sagres! The seafood is the best ever! Great staff, great wine options, wonderful sea view, is a perfect place to enjoy Maputo with friends, full moon and wonderful seafood! Fresh, well prepared and right for the price, big portions, definitely will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graziela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“good fish, big crowds”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very fine atmosphere, both indoors and outdoors, excellent food and friendly staff. A good spot for a cheerful evening!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lenemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Basic, good value and super seafood and great ocean views”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I arrived here at 10pm straight off a flight from Lisbon. Luckily they kepy the kitchen open a few minutes past so I could enjoy the prawns and calamari. Although exhausted and not exactly hungry, I really enjoyed this restaurant.

It was simple, cheap (although not quite as cheap as the suggested amount in the overview. Staff were helpful and although we were the only people in the restaurant we did not feel rushed.

Good location next to the Radisson Blu hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loungeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great vibe great food great service.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Extensive menu in English and Portuguese with friendly staff (Louisa was great and knew exactly what ingredients are used). Secure parking with great vibe and food is full portioned and fresh.

Will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleySRabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagres Shellfish Restaurant also viewed

Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 
Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 
Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 

Been to Sagres Shellfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing