We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residencial Hoyo Hoyo
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Very small room and a disfunctioning shower .
Postive point is the balcony!
Location is good and there is a garden.
Restaurant is limited and breakfast is bad.
Former Ibis hotel (Hotel Turismo) is a better option in medium budget range

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Residencial Hoyo Hoyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

125$ a night for a kind of suite ( the only room left) with a terrible bathroom small and quite dirty, very old furniture, stain sheets, unkind staff also at the restaurant, breakfast included but if you want eggs you will have to pay 2$ for this! Need more to say that I do not advice this place!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genny1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Overpriced hotels are the norm in Maputo, for the time being there doesn't seem a way to escape that. However, there are plenty of better options then Hoyo Hoyo. The room was, small, uncomfortable, and the breakfast was simply put....awful. They don't seem to try or care to win your business in Hoyo Hoyo. NOT WORTH IT.

Room Tip: I chose the standard single room with extra bed. Hardly have space to move with 2 people in that roo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad_singapore_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Hoyo Hoyo will never win any awards for being an amazing hotel, but it's an okay and safe place to stay, with reasonable prices and a convenient location. You could do worse!

The rooms are indeed tiny (especially the bathroom), and the decor leaves a lot to be desired. I could not get the wireless (which costs about $5/hour) to work for me and the staff person who knew how to troubleshoot this was not there. While the hotel is clean, the bedspreads have seen better days. The mattresses could be firmer and the free breakfast could be better. On the upside, it's a decent value, the location is close to many centrally located shops and good restaurants, (there are a couple of good small places right across the Avenida Eduardo Mondlane on Av. Magumbwe, heading towards the Terminus Hotel), and the restaurant at Hoyo Hoyo is not expensive and it's pretty good (particularly the xachuti, which is excellent) and has a nice terrace. I walked unaccompanied at night in the immediate neighborhood and never had a problem or felt I was taking my life into my own hands. The reception staff could be a bit more consistently friendly (they are very nice in the restaurant), but some of the reception people are kind of cold fish sometimes. I also like the little tiny balconies they have off the rooms in the back. Also, you need to be on top of the reception folks in terms of confirming your reservation. The email address on their website apparently has changed also, which is not super helpful. Best to call.

If you're on a budget, this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcmauburkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

One night was one too many in the terrible hotel. On arrival they did not have our booking , even though we had received confirmation. To decsribe the rooms as small is an understatement. To use the toilet you must either sit with your legs in the shower or sideways. Our room stank of cigarette smoke , which no amount of airing , spraying or running of the airconditioner could lessen. Sheets are threadbare. Walls are paper thin and we had a party going on in the room next to us all night.
Only redeeming feature is a fairly nice restaurant with exeptionally friendly staff.
This hotel , and Maputo in general are one "never again" destination for me.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobCCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Very small rooms that are very out dated; tiny showers that you still need to walk around in to get wet....and the so called continental breakfast, whuich was three pieces of bread and one peice of pre-sliced cheese still in its plastic wrapping - enough said!
Our next visit to Maputo wont involce staying at this place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusTraveller73093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I would recommend this hotel if you want a clean, safe and accessible place. It is surrounded by shops, places where you can buy curios and Mozambiquan music. The food is fantastic!.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabskon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.5 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Africa Business
Hotel Africa Business
#11 of 23 in Maputo
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#6 of 23 in Maputo
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa das Mangas
Hotel Villa das Mangas
#17 of 23 in Maputo
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Hoyo Hoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Hoyo Hoyo

Address: Avenida Francisco Orlando Magumbwe 837, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Number of rooms: 194

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing