We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location for business trip”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Comfortable room with a view of Port Louis. Friendly and helpful staff. Great outdoor bar on the harbour. Only negative was room overlooked bar which had DJ with loud music on Friday night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outonthehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffrenhotel, Manager at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear outonthehills,

We thank you for your stay in January 2011 in our hotel.

It is a pleasure to learn that you apreciated our staff and the hotel's location.

Thank you once again for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Mauritius, and we do hope to welcome you back very soon to Le Suffren.

Yours sincerely

The Management
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    222
    81
    24
    21
See reviews for
37
67
37
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

This is the sister hotel to La Bourdonnais. Both of them overlook the marina at Port Louis. Le Suffren is the cheaper of the two - and so it should be. The rooms in both hotels are fine, nothing special but clean and decent sized. The swimming pools are very misrepresented on both websites - they're tiny and you could literally swim a 'length' in one stroke.There is no gym at Le Suffren, but you can catch the little ferry and use La Bourdonnais' which is small but adequate.
Internet connection in the rooms in Le Suffren was intermittent on the one night I tried to use it (for which there was a charge). Much better to go to the reception and/or bar (no charge for wifi in these areas).
As with most hotels, it's the staff that make the difference. Reception staff were reasonably efficient - but are not able to advise on tours (it is a business hotel, so can't really complain at that, although I had been planning to stay on for a few days holiday after concluding business so it would have been helpful to have had advice about things to do/see). In the restaurant the staff really need to go through training in the basics. As an example, five of us sat down to dinner. The table had only been partially set - one setting had several knives, two forks, only some had water glasses, none had napkins. The drinks orders were taken, then the food orders. Drinks came - one person was given the wrong drink. None of the staff noticed that we were still waiting for place settings so we ended up scouring other tables to get what we needed. Then the food came. One colleague was given the wrong soup - it was chicken soup, she is vegetarian. My fish wasn't properly cooked - even cutting it with a knife was difficult, I wasn't going to try chewing through it. I was told 'that's how we eat it here' - yet on two other occasions people in my group had been served tuna which was almost overcooked so I was sceptical about that claim. At breakfast you often had to find a waiter in order to get a coffee- it didn't always get served automatically. Every day at breakfast the bread was stale - on the first day I thought I'd picked up a piece of toast by mistake. You can eat much better at La Bourdonnais and charge the bill to your room at Le Suffren. I had lunch there on one day - a fresh, healthy salad and it was SO much better than anything I'd had at Le Suffren and worth that bit extra. I wished I'd eaten there more often. Service was MUCH better too. Most of the bar staff at Le Suffren were however friendly and fairly efficient. The terrace bar is a great place to hang out in the evening, whether you're alone or with a group. . Friday evenings is happy hour which brings out a great weekend crowd of locals. Positioned firmly as a business hotel, I would expect Le Suffren to be better than this. Business travellers need good business facilities (a colleague told me the business centre wasn't very good), efficient staff (we've all got meetings to go to) and decent food (many of us are away from home for extended periods and need at least to have variety, including fresh food). If somone opens another business hotel and gets these basics right, Le Suffren would have to pull up its socks if it were to survive. As it is, the only choice appears to be these two hotels although a colleague who is going to Mauritius soon is exploring another option and I'll wait to hear his verdict. In summary: stay at Le Suffren for cheaper rooms, have drinks at Le Suffren bar, eat at La Bourdannais restaurant and you should have a decent stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canthinkofaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffrenhotel, Manager at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Dear Canthinkofaname,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review about your most recent stay with us.
We are very sorry to read about your disappointments and your most detailed observations.
We are always thankful for constructive feedback as we learn from it in a question to become better, and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss some of your comments further with our team.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina and that you will give us another chance to gain back your confidence in our staff, service and product and to offer you a more accurate image of our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We spent 5 nights late December/early January 2011. The lovely outdoor dining area was spoiled by cigarette butts and broken glass from New Years Eve which were still there some days later. The area obviously had not been cleaned for a while. Also, one morning the only bread available at the buffet was one stale loaf. Requests for the usual fresh rolls, baguettes etc were repeatedly ignored by staff. This is a nice hotel in a great location but is being let down by slack management.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayde78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffrenhotel, Manager at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear jayde78 ,

We would like to thank you for your precious comment and deeply apologize for not having succeeded in offering you the high level ‘Le Suffren Experience’ during your stay.

Your comments have been duly noted, and you can rest assured that similar shortfalls will not happen again for your future stay at Le Suffren. This happening is not typical of the service we wish to offer and further steps have been taken in order to avoid any reoccurrence of this nature.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina and that you will give us another chance to offer you a more accurate image of our Hotel in a not too distant future.

The Management
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Le Suffren Hotel is one of the best business I have stayed in...Despite being a business hotel they can also provide some facilities for leisure travelers like for me i was there for some business meetings but still they have some activities that can chill you after some days of business. they provide a catamaran boat and with a best deal that you can get throughout the island.
I have enjoyed my Christmas eve over there despite i was not with my family.
Restaurant is really nice and food also. with lovely and smiling staff which made my day.
Effective and trained staff which pays attention to details, they always care for the guests.
For me I will not hesitate to go there again as it is near of all facilities and it is situated in the City and 15 mins from Eben Cyber City.
Last but not least value for money.
I definitely recommend this hotel to all fellow business travelers going to Mauritius.
Bye for now. See you soon Le Suffren

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matheodimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffrenhotel, Manager at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Dear matheodimon,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at Le Suffren Hotel and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Mauritius!
We will make sure your nice comments are shared within the team.

Sincerely,

The Management
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Great hotel with a beautiful view of the harbour front ..and many facilities provided by the hotel for exp: one free water transport are at the disposal of guest to travel from le caudan waterfront to the hotel and from the hotel to le caudan waterfront..
Great food with nice restaurant, you can choose to eat inside or on the terrace.
I have been traveling a lot to Mauritius but i think Le suffren is the number in mauritius for business travelers and it can be for leisure travelers too as they provide one pool and happy hour every friday night.
Great bar and concept bar with nice and professional staff.
The rooms are welcoming and they have efficient staff which are very caring, and which pays attention at every details.
I will be back there in a few month for business it is a great hotel. they also have free parking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slyvainwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffrenhotel, Manager at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your observations and are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Le Suffren Hotel.
Your interesting comments regarding the Hotel and its location will be very useful to other guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require for your future reservations.
Yours sincerely,

The Management
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Excellent quality breakfast. Staff friendly but typical Mauritian laid back service. You need to be relaxed!! Good location if working in Port Louis. Relax by the beach if not working. Bring your own travell iron if staying for more than afew days! Wifi now free and fast in public areas. Good to see that the hotel take on baord and act on feedback. New bar opened last week. I hope will do well. Relaxing and chilled out with contemporary funky designs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank School70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffrenhotel, Manager at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comments on Tripadvisor following your stay in Mauritius! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Suffren and are looking forward to hosting you again soon.

The entire team is at your disposal should you require any assistance for your future visit in Mauritius.

Faithfully Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

This hotel is nicely located in Port Louis, with really nice rooms and layout.

Positives:
1. The location, setup/layout, restaurant appointnment, bar facilities, room size and ambience.

2. Breakfast was very good and cheap. continental or full english breakfast available and a vast array of options and selection. Just had to ask 3 times for a coffee which took 15 minutes.

Improvements:
1. Bathroom amenities provided are the bare minimum you would expect in a roadside motel on a country highway. It just did not match the room quality.

2. Staff attentiveness to patrons is very average given the hotel and what you what expect. They are walking around like drones in a robotic state 'doing things' rather than being attentive to patrons who require service or attention. A simple 'can I help you Sir' goes a long way.

3. The wireless internet is only in the foyer and restaurant, and this is extremely difficult to connnect to. In the end i gave up. The alternative is the room connection which is so expensive you dont bother either.

So all in all it is a nice hotel, greta place as far as location and setup, finishing are nice and a greta ambience. Just some slight improvements in small areas would lift the hotel to a level is is expectant of its decor.

At 4400 MRU / 116.00 Euro per night for bed and breakfast in standrd room, this is reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffrenhotel, Manager at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 12, 2010
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for your stay in December in our hotel.

It is a pleasure to learn that you apreciated our breakfast and the location of our hotel.

Your comments have been duly noted and actions have been already taken to improve our service.

Thank you once again for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Mauritius, and we do hope to welcome you back very soon to the hotel Le Suffren.

Yours sincerely

The Management
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Louis
0.2 mi away
Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel
12.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
6.5 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Suffren Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Suffren Hotel & Marina

Property: Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Address: Le Caudan, PO Box 91, Port Louis, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Port Louis District > Port Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Suffren Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront node in Port Louis next to the Caudan Waterfront and the Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, Le Suffren Hotel & Marina offers both business travellers and holiday makers alike a unique location in the capital of Mauritius. Ideally located within walking distance of the central business district and close to the Pailles International Convention Centre and Cybercity, Le Suffren is also within easy reach of the various cultural and tourist sites in Mauritius. Facing the marina or the mountains, our 102 bedrooms offer great levels of comfort in a modern décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Suffren Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Suffren Hotel And Marina
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina Mauritius/Port Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing