We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best services” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Suffren Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I came to Port Louis in may I stay in Le Suffren hotel 1st time and find out this is one of the best services hotel I ever stay staff is very nice and friendly restaurant Manager Mr. Ediaz and his staff is very friendly Mr. Ediaz goes out of his way to make me comfftiable he and his staff treat me like a familly member in 2 month stay I did not miss my home his services is always with smile and fast. From now on this will be the place I stay thanks to all the staff members and specialy Mr. Ediaz from botem of my hart.

Rehan Barlas Room 128

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    210
    75
    24
    19
See reviews for
33
64
34
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I've been complaining to different staff about the guys next door been smoking cigars and cigarettes (and possibly something else too who knows) for couple weeks now. The heavy second hand smoke comes in to my room thru ventilator everyday and I have been hiding myself in bathroom or forced to go out. the managers did not do anything to help but instead asked if I have burned something myself and also said all guests *should* know they are not allowed to smoke when i asked them to warn my neighbor. I have been feeling sick and dizzy and headache all the time since I took in too much second hand smoke. they are not doing anything to help. I stay here long enough to know unhave to keep chasing and proofing yourself to convince/beg for someone's help. Gosh help yourself find elsewhere to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I did not actually stay at this hotel but being in Mauritius for one week holiday we went to Port Louis to meet a friend who was staying at Le Suffren on business. We arrived at around 6 pm on a Friday night when the Happy Hour was going on. I ordered a rum cocktail and my husband had a beer. Service not nice at all, though drinks came quick. Waiters rude, not smiling, kind of a cheap lively atmosphere, people being there just to get drunk. The night's theme was 'Christmas in July' and there was a Christmas Tree and the waiters wearing Santa' s fur caps. Nice location though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank obsessedbytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I always go to the Suffren hotel when I come to Maurice. The quality/service is good for the price. The employees are great and know on how to keep customers happy, especially at the bar “on the rocks” with always a TOP service and smiley team.
I feel good there, there is a nice atmosphere, like at home...it is for this reason that I come to this hotel every month.
Sonia D

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Le Suffren Hotel is the perfect business hotel, just a short, free boat ride from the city.
The outside bar area is a perfect spot to chill during the week and turns into a lively entertainment venue on weekends, with great cocktails and performances by Joao the bar flairist.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanineC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Le Suffren is conveniently located, however, I was really disappointed with the food served for dinner at Le Boussole restauarant. It's overpriced and the quality is not good as well. I would recommend travellers to catch the water taxi and go to Le Caudan Waterfront for their meals (go there early before it gets dark so that you won't lose your directions). There is a wide variety of restaurants from Chinese to Indian and you won't be disappointed. There were not even a room service menu in the rooms and when you called to ask for one, they never came to bring one. I had to walk to La Boussole restaurant and ask to see the menu...the manager promised to send a room menu to my room, but, never did...Very poor service...

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank chinyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Georges Caye
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Like many other reviewers, I stayed here on business. I stayed for one night only. Having a lot of work to catch up on I needed wireless in my room. The room rate was expensive but the reasonably high standard of the hotel and its location made this OK. However what was totally unacceptable was the larcenous price charged for internet access in a "Business" hotel. It amounted to 24% of the already hefty room charge per 24 hours. It was pretty slow and required a fresh log in about every 20 minutes. Also, the "Business Center" has no printer or scanner. Be warned, so you do not get a fright when you check out.

If it was not for the above, which has probably clouded my judgement, the hotel is ideal, and is one of the few places I have stayed on business where I am sure my significant other would enjoy a few days stay. The location is picturesque and sitting on the terraces watching the activities in the harbour and marina is very pleasant.

My room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
The room had a locked mini-bar. They key I was given when I checked in could not open it so I never got inside it. On reflection, this may have been a good thing! The in room coffee service, much vaunted when checking, in turned out to be nothing more than an electric kettle and a sachet of instant coffee powder. The coffee selection in the restaurant and bar were the real McCoy however. Tasty and got the pulse rate up very nicely.
The service I experienced from all hotel personnel I encountered was efficient and cheerful.
I had a few drinks at the bar and a meal in the restaurant. All very good and the surroundings were really nice. I found the service in the bar and restaurant was friendly and speedy, however it was a Tuesday evening and pretty quiet.
Breakfast was included in my room rate and was also very good. A standard buffet with a good selection including some interesting items such as smoked marlin and hot dishes cooked to order.

If not for the first paragraph of this review, I would have given this hotel a much higher rating. I discovered when I moved across the island that for about US$10/day, one can rent a “dongle” from a local telecom company which gives you pretty good high speed internet wherever your laptop may be. Armed with one of these, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cayeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Louis
0.2 mi away
Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel
12.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
12.5 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
6.5 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Suffren Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Suffren Hotel & Marina

Property: Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Address: Le Caudan, PO Box 91, Port Louis, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Port Louis District > Port Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Suffren Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront node in Port Louis next to the Caudan Waterfront and the Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, Le Suffren Hotel & Marina offers both business travellers and holiday makers alike a unique location in the capital of Mauritius. Ideally located within walking distance of the central business district and close to the Pailles International Convention Centre and Cybercity, Le Suffren is also within easy reach of the various cultural and tourist sites in Mauritius. Facing the marina or the mountains, our 102 bedrooms offer great levels of comfort in a modern décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Le Suffren Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Suffren Hotel And Marina
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina Mauritius/Port Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing