We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pop in if you are in Port Louis, but not worth a special trip there” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Natural History Museum

Natural History Museum
Ranked #12 of 31 things to do in Port Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1880, this museum features an exhibit of the popular Dodo, the flightless bird that has been extinct since the end of the 17th century, and a vast library collection of more than 50,000 books.
Port Louis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pop in if you are in Port Louis, but not worth a special trip there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Bit shabby but interesting to see the dodo exhibition and skeleton and the skeleton of the solitaire as well (the Rodrigues dodo).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank crossitoffthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    35
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otley, N. Yorks
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Need TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Museum is bring rneovatedc at moment, but last time I visited the exhibits were in a sorry state. Insects pinned to display boards with half their legs missing. Nevertheless still worth visiting given its convenient location in the centre of PL.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lbayorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockdale, Australia
Level Contributor
488 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Arrived to see the museum & it's closed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

During my 9 day holiday in Mauritius for the very first time & visiting from Sydney Mauritius I decided to leave the Museum tour until my very last day, on arrival on the 08/08/12 I'm disappointed & informed from the staff it's closed due to some kind of meeting inside..... very disappointing! anyway decided to take a walk around the local area & found some very interesting buildings & had a enjoyable day!......... maybe next time I'll make sure it's the first place I visit!.... not sure if there is a admission fee.... a very small relaxing park opposite the Museum for those stressed out shoppers wishing to take the weight off their feet.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Rouge
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok, but musty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is he national museum, but it sure lacks maintenance.
Some good exhibits of fish, reconstructed dodo etc. apart from that, nothing much.
If you are visiting Port Louis you can visit this place.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,636 reviews
1,116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,074 helpful votes
“Worth your time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2007

The Natural History Museum is based next to Company Gardens in Port Louis. Its the oldest museum in Mauritius.

Its a rather fusty museum whose most famous exhibit is is a reconstruction of a Dodo from the only complete skeleton in existence.

It also contains other collections of birds, reptiles and marine creatures. Some of the birds such as the Solitaire and the Red Rail are now both extinct. You will also find a collection of fauna.

The museum also houses a library of books and also has temporary exhibits. On an earlier visit it had an informative temporary exhibition on the slave trade.

Admission to the museum is free. Behind the scenes there is much academic research going on including some work done on Dodo bones by a time of Dutch and Mauritian scientists.

Its a shame that no photography is allowed at the museum. This allows the museum to sell postcards etc of the infamous dodo.

There is also an element of it being an old fashioned museum and it does need to be modernised. I am aware that some parts of the museum was being refurbished in February 2007 when I paid a visit.

Helpful?
6 Thank PrestonGuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum also viewed

Port Louis, Port Louis District
Port Louis, Port Louis District
 
Port Louis, Port Louis District
Port Louis, Port Louis District
 

Been to Natural History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing