We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you are into racing”

Port Louis Race track
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Only if you are into racing”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Only go if you're into horse racing. Its a bit shabby and dated. We did not go on a race day which probably doesn't help.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrilemaurice, Owner at Port Louis Race track, responded to this review, November 9, 2015
Hi Thank you for taking time to comments. Can you tell me when was you at the Crown Lodge ?
Thanks
Kind regards
Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Every Saturday until November”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked this through our Rep and were in a Private Box. But you can do it a lot cheaper. A great way to see and meet the locals and have a flutter!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Legspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were recommended to go by a friend. We paid to go into Crown Lodge balcony overlooking the finishing post. Easy access to the paddock. Friendly hosts, a really lovely way to be part of this Mauritian tradition. Definitely pleased we went and would pass on the recommendation.

Helpful?
Thank RayUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A fantastic days racing (we all won some money!) we were well looked after with drinks and snacks throughout the day and the VIP box was right by the finish line, which made the whole day more exciting. The 2nd oldest turf club in the world and the oldest track in the Southern hemisphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big track- seen from a Castle on top”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were standing atop a Castle overlooking the Port Louis harbor on one side (we saw ships docking in / out of harbor) and on the other side was this race course

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ofusandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrilemaurice, Owner at Port Louis Race track, responded to this review, November 12, 2015
Thank you very much for your comments.
I am not sure that you were with us at the Crown Lodge....by i do agree that the champs de Mars is a beautiful spot...and cosmopolitan.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Louis Race track also viewed

Port Louis, Port Louis District
Port Louis, Port Louis District
 
Port Louis, Port Louis District
Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Port Louis Race track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing