We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thumbs down for the NGO controlling the island”

Ile aux Aigrettes Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.16*
and up
Mahebourg Guided Day Tour
Ranked #32 of 197 things to do in Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ile aux Aigrettes is a small (27 ha) island situated in the Mahebourg Bay, about 850 m off the south-east coast of Mauritius. Unlike the mainland which is of volcanic origin, Ile aux Aigrettes is made up of coralline limestone. It is home to the last remnants of dry coastal forest, once found around most of Mauritius. Like the mainland, Ile aux Aigrettes was affected by tree logging and land clearance, and the introduction of exotic animal and plant species almost destroyed the native fauna and flora. In 1965 the island was declared a nature reserve and our intense conservation efforts have resulted in the restoration of the forest and reintroduction of rare species that had long since disappeared from the island.
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thumbs down for the NGO controlling the island”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

So I wanted to visit this island with my friends. Since we had 6 students and 3 elderly we asked the IAA to make us a fair deal. Please note their price is 3 times more expensive for tourists. They categorically refused to give us a fair local price even having 14 people on board. Their shops also sells articles at least 5 times more expensive than normal claiming all this to be donations. Please note they have a hierarchy of members from its executive, president, vice-president,secretary, assistant secretary,treasurer, businessman, chief executive officers a long list of more than 25 people..For a small island no more than 2 football pitch this NGO with a high proportion of non native mauritian has taken control of mauritian property and affords to turn down people on the discrimination of their origin tells you all about their nature. I like animal welfare but some people are really money suckers sucking money from gullible tourists! It is more like they are feeding the animals to feed themselves.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RajivSobhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    69
    16
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
277 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Ideal for environmentalists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is an small island that is being preserved for many rare and almost extinct wildlife native to mauritius. We saw skinks, olive eyed bird and pink pigeon which are all very rare, as well as giant tortoises. Nice to see nature being protected and preserved.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Haribo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nature reserve, not a zoo, but so much better to see animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nature reserve on a coral island, lots of endemic birds also endemic skinks and large aldabra tortoises. Good explanation from the guide / nature ranger while we saw a lot of plants, trees and animals. Small gift shop where you can also virtually adopt an animal of the island ( 25 euro a year ). This is an important island since they try to breed the endangered birds and release them afterwards back into the wild on Mauritius.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank vega_stroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A brilliant nature reserve!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

For anyone interested in wildlife this is a must! This small island is an ark for Mauritian wildlife and has some of the rarest species in the world being bred here to try to save them from extinction. We saw the Pink Pigeon, Olive White-eye, Mauritius fody, Ornate day - gekko and Telfair skink all in one visit - and took many photos! They also breed the native Fruit bats and Aldabra Giant tortoises, as well as having a native tree nursery.

We paid extra for an extended visit and it was well worth it, we not only saw all the rare species, but met and talked to Crystal who is charge of the White-eye programme and knows every one on the island individually by name!

A standard trip (1.5 hours) costs 800 rupees (£16)each but we stayed 2 and a half hours for £30 each and had a personal guide just for the 2 of us to find and show us all the key species. This money goes to the Mauritian Wildlife Foundation to support their excellent work on this and other reserves in Mauritius.Email them well in advance of your visit if you wish to book the extended tour as they have to have a guide and an expert available for you. Email is reservation@mauritian-wildlife.org

The terrain is flat with good footpaths and is a 10 minutes boat trip (included) from the kiosk on the mainland. There is a (basic) toilet block on the island but no other facilities - the island is for the wildlife!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank dipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable And Educational Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited Ile aux Aigrettes Nature Reserve in June. The island has been declared a nature conservation site and today is being preserved by the Mauritian Wildlife Foundation. The tour on Ile aux Aigrettes takes about one and half hours with a guide and takes 10 minutes each way for the boat trip. We were lucky enough to see the Pink Pigeon, the Aldabran Giant Tortoise, the Telfair’s Skink. Look out for Big Daddy. A very enjoyable trip and the fee goes to a very good cause.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiggipaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ile aux Aigrettes Nature Reserve also viewed

 
Riviere des Anguilles, Savanne District
Pointe d'Esny, Grand Port District
 

Been to Ile aux Aigrettes Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing