We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenic Park”

Black River Gorges National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.25*
and up
Trou-aux-Cerfs, Black River Gorges National Park and La Rhumerie de Chamarel...
Ranked #19 of 196 things to do in Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 6,574-hectacre natural reserve is filled with hiking trails to observe the indigenous forests and variety of wildlife.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenic Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

A beautiful scenic area of Mauritius. We spent an entire afternoon exploring this region. Amazing mountain vista views and sights. We were on a guided tour and wanted to see a lot. When we return, I might consider renting a car as we spotted several hiking trails that were inviting exploration.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank captmorgan1Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    222
    60
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Would like to have seen more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We saw the waterfall near the coloured earth after some heavy rainfall, which was really spectacular, wished we'd had more time to see more that the area had to offer

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank baggiewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KZN,South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolute gorgeous nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Really brillaint ! A must to visit! lovely views, nature, well kept gardens and a perfect outdoor adventure with quads!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dancingqueen98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

OK, Mauritius is a 12 hour flight from LHR, but, when staying there this trip is a must. We stayed at the Heritage Awali (superb) and chartered a taxi for 5 hours at a cost of about £65.00, the driver took us to where we wanted and this place is a highlight, until you see it you can't imaging that such a small country would have such an outstanding, and large, attraction.
A place for at least a short look around, visit, or a destination to dwell over.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBrown524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“MAURITIUS-BLACK-RIVER-GORGES-NATIONAL-PARK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

GOOD:
· Nothing real special, but worth a visit, when you are around. Some trails can be muddy and steep.
BAD:
· nothing

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank coralkong502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black River Gorges National Park also viewed

Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
Riviere Noire, Riviere Noire District
 
Riviere des Anguilles, Savanne District
Bel Ombre, Savanne District
 

Been to Black River Gorges National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing