We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience the colourful life of Bamako in peaceful surroundings”
Review of Hotel Mande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mande
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Experience the colourful life of Bamako in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The hotel, and its terrace, is in a beautiful position on the Niger looking across to the main part of Bamako. It is true the rooms are a bit faded, and no sign of internet connection when we were there, but on a Sunday all the fashionable weddings come here to be photographed and there are often wonderful concerts of world class Malian groups. Lovely pool.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueaveyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
3
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

I stayed on two separate nights, in two different rooms. Both were spacious, with en suite shower room and toilet. The AC worked, there was a TV and phone. Decor was fine though a bit tired. The swimming pool was smallish but clean, with a bar by it (open during the day). The restaurant terrace overlooking the River Niger was lovely and airy, and there weren't many mosquitos, to my surprise. Breakfasts were buffet style including a hot egg dish eg omelette, plus bread, croissant, cold meat/cheese, fruit yoghurt. One evening at dinner I had a very good tagliatelle carbonara - an unexpected find. The staff were helpful and courteous. The only drawback is it is a good 30 minutes walk from 'downtown' Bamako, and at night it is advisable to get a taxi if going to any other places.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
151 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Great location (though lots of mosquitoes), sitting at breakfast on the river watching the pirogues is wonderful but the rooms have seen better days (although the bathroom is very clean). It's not stylish at all. For the price they charge, which is decent for Bamako, management could invest a little - paint the rooms and hallways! Fix the broken rotten chairs by the pool! Fix holes in walls! Fix the A/C! Management think that because the location is wonderful, that's enough...it's infuriating to see because it's such a waste. And unless the breakfast is included DO NOT pay for the buffet because for 1/10th of the price you can have a yummy breakfast at a bakery. I recommend it because it's not a dive.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

The location is peaceful and tranquil, a few miles from the center of Bamako. My colleagues were staying at the more posh Laico El Farouk, also right on the river but you'd hardly know it, the hotel didn't take advantage of its river setting as the Mande does. At the Mande, you can really relax watching the river flow by. The pool is a good size and tehre were some serious swimmers there. The taxis into town weren't too expensive - about 2,500 CFA. The room was a bit "bunker-like" with the windows closed and curtains drawn but the TV worked, the AC was new and worked very well, and the bathroom was serviceable if not posh. The towels were quite good as well. I'd definitely stay there again and would pass up the opportunity to stay in town in a more sterile and cold "marble" environment. DO BRING MOSQUITO REPELLENT though! the mozzies are very hungry outside of the center of town.

  • Liked — beautiful location by the river Niger
  • Disliked — mosquitos!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyfBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
169 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

I want to inject a note of reality after the last two rave reviews. I am more inclined to agree with the reviewer from January. The setting is lovely (on the river) and it's very pleasant to sit on the verandah and have breakfast or drink a beer. The staff is friendly and the wi-fi works well. There are also a couple of computers in the lobby and you buy cards from reception which have a password and code.

But this is not an upscale or luxury hotel. The rooms have televison and air conditioning but the beds are not particularly comfortable. The shower is basic. I had an ok time and would certainly come back. But I don't want anyone to have the impression that this is a top-ranking hotel. It's a perfectly acceptable mid-range place. which is a bit far from the center of the city.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Hotel Mande is a great place for escaping the buzz of Bamako.
Extremely nicely located at the Niger river its a perfect place to relax. But: There is no heating of the pool so its to cold to take a swim during winter months. The outdoot restaurant is great befoe the mosquitos take over in the evening. The service and standard could be better but its still my number one in Bamako:)

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Slowplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2007

I've stayed at the Mande on two occasions, first at the beginning of my month long stay in Mali, and second at the end of it. I have stayed in hotels and campements up and down the country from Bamako to Timbuktu and back, and i can surely say that our stay at hotel Mande was fantastic. the rooms were lovely, and the pool was nice. To have the best experiance you must wake up early, go to the main building to get a complimentary breakfast of fruit, coffee, deli meats and baguettes, and various juices and water, then take your breakfast and go out on the veranda, sit off to the end and watch the fishermen and other boaters (collecting mud and sand), slowly, almost magically emerge, seemingly out of nowhere.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank 2bobornot2bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamako hotels
0.0 mi away
Azalai Hotel Dunia
Azalai Hotel Dunia
#30 of 38 in Bamako
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Loft
Hotel Le Loft
#1 of 38 in Bamako
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Coccinelle
Hotel La Coccinelle
#6 of 38 in Bamako
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Relais Hotel
Le Relais Hotel
#21 of 38 in Bamako
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
0.0 mi away
Azalai Hotel Salam
Azalai Hotel Salam
#19 of 38 in Bamako
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mande

Property: Hotel Mande
Address: Cite du Niger, Bamako BP 2639, Mali
Location: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mande 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mande Hotel Bamako

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing