We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute haven!”
Review of Comme Chez Soi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamako
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comme Chez Soi
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
Reviewed December 17, 2010

I stayed nearly a month in Bamako and this location was an absolute haven to the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The owners and staff really do make you feel like you are their personal guest and offer great hospitality. An absolutely recommendable place to stay in Bamako!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187265Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 85 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2010

Comme Chez Soi is a haven of tranquility in Bamako. The rooms are chic and comfortable although a bit small if you have alot of luggage. Bathrooms are very clean. The pool is impeccably clean and perfectly refreshing after the heat and dust of Bamako. The hotel is set in a shady garden that is wonderful for relaxing, and the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast is imncluded in the room price and the staff will arrange airport transfers. Comme Chez Soi is alittle off the beaten path (not in the heart of Bamako) but there are many good restaurants within walking distance and it was easy to catch a taxi to anywhere else in the city. The hotel will be opening a bistro upstairs on their lovely terrace in a few months. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucysworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

The owners are a lovely couple who have chosen the perfect name for their hotel. The pool is one of the most inviting I've ever seen. You walk onto the property and the temperature drops by at least five if not ten degree. The sounds and heat of the city melt away. A friend of mine who was at the Radisson and was paying over twice the price said he wished his company had put him up at Le Comme Chez Soi instead. Would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, quiet spot that provides all the necessary comforts. The beds are very comfortable and the staff very friendly. Book in advance! Their popularity and small number of rooms means they fill up. You want to be able to be there for your entire stay in Bamako!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityhopper4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I loved Comme Chez Soi! It was such an escape from the overwhelming day-to-day that is found in Bamako. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - the service, the rooms - everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPaasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

I moved from a 5 star hotel to stay here, a fantastic oasis from the craziness Bamako. They have paid so much attention to detail on all levels, the staff is kind, helpful, and very accommodating. And the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krlingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful, allowing me to choose between several rooms. There's a great variety of reading books available in case you have spare time. Esthetically the yard and rooms are extremely pleasing. It's a great experience just to walk onto the grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariamaBah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Comme Chez Soi is a calm, tidy oasis in the middle of the Hippodrome neighborhood. There are many plants and shady trees on the property and a small, tranquil, stone-lined pool to slide into on a hot afternoon. The rooms are tastefully decorated and relaxing to be in. For someone who is easily intimidated by fancy hotels, I can assure you that I feel like I can be at home at Comme Chez Soi (well, I guess that's the point, right? What with the name and all...) but still feel like I am getting special treatment.

Unlike many Bamako hotels, I feel like you actually get what you pay for here.

Comme Chez Soi is close to grocery stores, food stands, nightlife, big and small restaurants, some street food, tailors, and public transportation. Some food (and coffee) is available at the hotel itself, and the owners are planning to expand.

Awesome library selection.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taamaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamako hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Le Loft
Hotel Le Loft
#1 of 38 in Bamako
78 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Coccinelle
Hotel La Coccinelle
#7 of 38 in Bamako
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
#4 of 38 in Bamako
81 reviews
2.1 mi away
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
#14 of 38 in Bamako
50 reviews
0 mi away
Azalai Hotel Dunia
Azalai Hotel Dunia
#30 of 38 in Bamako
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comme Chez Soi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comme Chez Soi

Address: Rue 281-Porte 37 | Hippodrome, Bamako 0, Mali
Phone Number:
Location: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bamako
#3 Business Hotel in Bamako
Price Range: $47 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Comme Chez Soi, a new, intimate, professional and cozy hotel in the heart of Bamako. We opened our doors at the end of 2009 after having completely renovated a traditional Malian villa using local materials and artisans. Our hotel is located down a quiet side street in the Hippodrome neighborhood, walking distance from the city's best restaurants, bars, and shops and just 5 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Comme Chez Soi Hotel Bamako

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing