We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing experience”
Review of San Toro

San Toro
Ranked #12 of 68 Restaurants in Bamako
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: San Toro is a well known restaurant in the center of Bamako with 20 years of history. Koffi Annan and the current King of The Netherlands are well known visitors. The food and the characteristic decoration are traditional African. The grilled fish and meat have an excellent reputation like the delicious local juices. The large garden and paillote offer excellent opportunities for meetings and seminars. Alcohol is not served.
Paris
1 review
“What an amazing experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been advised by my colleagues to dine at this restaurant, and it exceeded my expectations. Beautiful heaven of peace in the buzzing city of Bamako. Good local juices, wonderful seafood and grilled chicken. The prices are very reasonable . Keep up the good work San Toro!!!!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees-Jan V, General Manager at San Toro, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Simone. Thanks a lot for you enthusiastic review of our restaurant. Please check out some of our new dishes and the delicious star fruit drink ( jus de carambola), also home made of cause. Hope to see you soon in San Toro. Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A real jem and oasis in BKO”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Santoro is a beautiful, cosy and atomspheric restaurant with garden close to Hippodrome. Traditional style decorated from the outdoors to the interiors and also bathrooms. Even waiters wear traditional clothes. Indoor you can enjoy live kora to accompany chats in a ventilated environment. Outdoor, enjoy your dinner in the garden..just beware of mosquitoes :)

This is a charming, characteristic, simple and not pretentious place.

Santoro's special seems to be chicken, but being a fish-lover, I can tell that their capitaine on skwers are cooked at state of art +++!

Menu is pretty limited, but this allows the restaurant to buy fresh food on daily basis given the quick turnover. So if you like the choice, you can be reassured about the quality (e.g.: it takes a capitaine of 15kg to make proper brochettes and the fish is fresh right from the Niger).

Very good juiuce / non-alchol cocktails, such as pineapple-ginger-mint.

Manager and waiters, Top top top of politeness and kindness.

Service is quick.

You can order by phone and also take away.


2 minor points only:
1. the place does not serve alchol (no wine, no beers, no spirits of sort) - so have your aperitive before u come! Otherwise you are anyway served peanuts or dried mangos waiting for your order to join your table :)


2. the traffic noise from the main road cannot be eclipsed if you seat outdoor, during weekends. Still, the garden is a real oasis in town.

This is my very fave place in Bamako!
Thumbs up even if they cant serve wine!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees-Jan V, Manager at San Toro, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review. I really hope to see you and your colleagues very soon in San Toro and I wish that everybody will be as satisfied as you!

See you soon,

Kees-Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“typical african food”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I wonder why there were always so few clients. I had dinner several times and it tasted great and the soft drinks with ginger and lemon are highly recommenable

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa_Forg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees-Jan V, General Manager at San Toro, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Elisa. Thanks for reviewing our restaurant. The political and economic situation in Mali where the reasons for the view clients in San Toro in 2012. We have been closed throughout most of 2012 actually! The new Malian president and the stabilizing political context enabled us to reopen the restaurant on 7 august 2013. I really hope to welcome you soon in the new and improved San Toro!
Warm greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Succulent fish on skewers”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Just came back from dining here and overall impression was excellent. The Captaine (nile perch)was served on skewers and was truly mouth watering. Lots of fresh veg, beans etc to accompany. Tried the fresh ginger juice, Note no alcohol there. Good atmosphere, yes hand written menu bit difficult to understand, so it's a bit of a guessing game. Background music perfect if you still want to chat. Price for the one course and drink only 5000 CFC (about 10 AUD). Got by on my French. Note the only difficult part was getting a taxi there, so make sure you have the address, I note now it's near the Hotel Relais. Taxi back was easier. Only here one day so still getting bearings. Taxis are cheap however my experience so far they don't know and understandably the tourist eating spots.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misspopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place, but a bit stuffy”
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I went to dinner here with my husband and inlaws in Jan 2010, and the food was nice. Portions were good, though the menu was a bit confusing (due to the bad handwriting). The decor is nice but the lighting poor, so overall it's average. We listened to Malian music while we ate, and over it was nice but a bit stuffy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmaAriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing