We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kumbali Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sophs”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I was based in Lilongwe for several years but stayed at Kumbali as a treat one night. Lovely staff, location & food & was far enough out of town to forget about the stress of LLW. Would recommend to business people, families and volunteer types(as a treat). Make sure you also take a trip down to the village.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    25
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
33
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Excellent rooms and the surrounding. I stayed there for almost 4 months and it was home away from home.The environment is very relaxing and I will always go there given a chance. Very friendly people.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 11 and in both JJ1 and JJ2. Both JJ1 and JJ2 share a kitchen. The best one for me w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TimothyN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We frequent Kumbali, probably monthly, if not staying there, for a meeting or just to go for a walk. Great food, service, environment, natural surroundings. Whether for a night or week we always leave refreshed.

Room Tip: Kids activities are all natural: swimming, nature, entertainment at Cultural village or Permacultur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StaciaNordin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I've stayed here several times, now, and can't fault it: this family-run Lodge in its beautiful setting, distant enough from the hubbub of the capital to let you feel like you're in the real Africa, has all the luxuries, attention to detail, high standards to pamper you. The varied amenities on offer close by mean you don't even need to leave the grounds for entertainment or experiences! A true gem!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This place is unique, and it's best feature is definitely its amazing food. Some of the best food I've had in the region. They make their own (absolutely delicious!) yogurt and cheese at the attached dairy farm (which surprisingly doesn't smell). Excellent service. The lodge is cozy with a nook and cranny (and good internet) for everyone. The rooms (inc. bathroom and balcony) are gorgeous. Downsides are: this place is set quite far off the path (so, not as convenient if you have meetings during the day, for example, but excellent for a weekend getaway). It's really expensive and--I think--a bit overpriced. Also, because lodges are split into two units, you can hear a lot of noise (like the TV) in the unit next to you. This is a bit aggravating if you are looking for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We urgenlty needed to travel to Malawi on business and our stay turned into a delightful mini-break as a result of staying at Kumbali, where the renound "warm heart of Africa" hospitality is at the centre of this lodge.
We last stayed at Kumbali ten years ago, when the lodge was first built. It has grown into itself and the gardens are now very established with huge indeginous and exotic trees set amongst the extensive rolling lawns. Our room was enormous and positioned in such a way that we felt we were the only people staying at the lodge. We watched the sunrise from the comfort of our bed and the only interruption was the sweet sound of birdsong.
Breakfast was a treat and the yogurt produced in the Kumbali dairy is divine. Jess's Malawi-grown coffee is an experience in itself and there was no better way to start the day than savoring it from the verandah, whilst overlooking the swimming pool with only the forest and distant mountains as the view, all the way to the horizon.
Service was exceptional, to the extent that my laundry was done, just because I'd left my clothes on the floor. Our urgent business was conculded very serenely and we returned to Cape Town truly refreshed and with an exceptionally full and happy heart. I would not hesitate to recommend Kumbali - it turned it business into pleasure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here two different nights on two on two different occasions as we arrived and left out of Lilongwi. The place is very nice. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. We ate dinner there 1 night and the food was very good. The place is an interesting concept as it is a working farm as well as a lodge. My only complaint was the slowness of the Wi-Fi but that is nothing to do with the hotel but rather the local service. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilongwe
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
0.0 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
#1 of 1 in Likoma Island
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumbali Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumbali Country Lodge

Property: Kumbali Country Lodge
Address: Presidential Way | Capital Hill Dairy Farm, Plot 9 & 11, Area 44, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kumbali Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation (14 executive and 2 deluxe rooms) Cuisine (restaurant, private and fine dining) Conference Centre (2 rooms) Wireless internet access (2 separate providers to ensure maximum availability) Fully stocked bar Comfortable outdoor seating with garden views and private upstairs lounge Lilongwe Airport transfers Transport to/from Lilongwe city centre Printing and photocopying Packed lunches (cool box available) Laundry facilities (7 days a week) Dry cleaning available on request Reliable electricity supply (generator power back up…just in case!) Torches and umbrellas in all rooms Swimming Pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Kumbali Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumbali Country Hotel Lilongwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing