We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunbird Lilongwe
Nearby Hotels
Sunbird Capital(Lilongwe)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madidi Lodge(Lilongwe)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simama Hotel(Lilongwe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
9
41
53
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
41
53
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthoroughly enjoyed my stayquiet hotelhot waterrooms are cleanevery eveningstayed here for a weekcomfortable bedthe ground floorlocation is greatcentral locationwarm heartswimming poolsunbirdmalawiinsecticideafrica
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 119 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

I went here in 2010 with as part of a school trip to Malawi for 3 weeks. We stayed here for our last night and was by far the best nights sleep I had had for 20 days! Rooms were cosy, sliding door onto grassed area (leading to pool - brrr), and a bath!!! Lush hot too!! The only hot water we had the whole trip. Very nice hotel too, clean and homely reception and corridors. Next to a main road but we weren't bothered as it was very close to a great market and pizza restaurant :P mmm. Plus the breakfast wasn't bad at all! Huge variety with chefs making sure it doesn't empty. All in all - great place!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pillow1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel for three nights. I can report that is very clean, the rooms are quite nice. Everything in my room worked, which is good for most of Africa.

But not much to do at night, the main bar is now being refurbished, and the cocktail bar is not up to much.

Overall it’s not a bad place to stay, but there is probably a better Hotel in Lilongwe, I will try another next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keltronNiamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed for one night whilst waiting for a flight out of Malawi. Room was excellent although I agree with others that the bathrooms are showing their age. Everything worked. Had DBB and was offered a buffet for all three. Selected a la carte for dinner and at this point the limitations began to be more obvious.Nothing bad just attention to detail was lacking. Staff were very friendly. Hotel was full but almost nobody else was a single traveller. It is not aiming for this market. Brought back memories as I had first stayed in the hotel in 1966.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are more expensive but probably worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

"Grand" hotel, with various meeting rooms, mainly catering for NGO's and government. Has a swimming pool (but never saw someone using it ....). Business centre (but rather ineffective; eg. photocopying machine out of order for several days; not enough internet cards available). Rooms are spacious with comfy beds. Bathroom has an ageing appearance (as the hotel itself). Breakfast buffet is good and has a large variety. Adjacent fitness room. Staff in general kind (but be aware and check your bill well). Location is quite okay, on walking distance (ca. 10 minutes) to the nearest Shopping centre (Nico Centre) in Old Town and a couple of international restaurants.
Unless you have to be in this hotel for a business-like meeting, otherwise better make another choice (which is probably a lot cheaper as well).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelNieuwegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My stay at this hotel was a mediocre experience . The rooms were spacious and liveable but the service and food at the main court area was disgustingly terrible.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews