We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Markets, Exceptional Comfort”
Review of Sunbird Lilongwe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunbird Lilongwe
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Lilongwe
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Great place to stay while in Lilongwe. Stayed in one of the small "condos" close to the pool. Very clean rooms with exceptional service and staff. The restaurant food was fine and varied. Short walk to the market and several malls. Lilongwe is small and easily seen from this property.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 115 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

Only stayed one night here prior to leaving Malawi the following day. The hotel is rather 80s and doesn't appear to have had much care since then. The rooms are adequate (air con worked fine etc.) and I was pleased at the mosquito spray and turndown. However when I went to run a bath, the water was a distinctly yellow colour - not something I particularly wanted to bathe in! The food in the hotel was of a high standard when compared with other places in Malawi. Overall it was a pleasant stay and not too bad when all things are considered.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I stayed here for two weeks. Yes the hotel could do with some modernisation but hey, let's put this in perspective and dont compare with 4 or 5 star hotels in Europe. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the rooms were clean, the food was good, the staff were fantastic and my stay was relaxing. It is in the business area of Lilongwe but we went out for a walk and there were some really lovely areas nearby. You can walk to the new parliament building. The hotel also has complimentary Mzuzu coffee - what more could you ask for!
Great country, great people.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed here for one night- I'd been recommended it and was keen to try this place as it scored better on TA than the one I've stayed in a couple of times in Lilongwe- Capital. I can't understand why really. I'd go with Capital on a comparison of breakfast alone. A colleague tried the gym and was concerned about using the equipment and said she'd rather stay at Capital again next time.
The room was fairly clean and the bed comfortable (any would have been probably as I was exhausted) with a good bednet. You do hear the noise of everyone in every corridor but you soon get used to it.
The staff are froendly even if they can't recommend any restaurants (sent us to one which turned out to be a take away inside a supermarket). I'd recommend Mama Mia though (recommended by the taxi driver) and close by.
Checking out takes an eternity and the rate is definitely not good value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Not the cheapest hotel in Lilongwe, but far better value than some others (ie Cresta Crossroads). Rooms were comfortable - for a family the connecting rooms are the way to go, but were expensive. Some of the larger rooms can sleep 4, but are not designed for it (ie no independent lighting, a bit squeezy).
Booking staff were friendly, if inefficient. Our booking was still there, but our room had been re-allocated when we arrived, so they had to scramble to find another. Reception staff didn't know which rooms would suit, but the porter found us one!
Location is fabulous, grounds are pleasant, if not underutilised and the food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wallaby6996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Reasonable quality hotel..book the deluxe rooms (180USD per night so not cheap) the rooms other are pretty dated. Hotel has a pool and health club a couple of bars, restaurant. All the staff are very pleasant. The hotel although rather dated is clean and tidy...Wifi in all rooms but there is a charge.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mudgedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

I am somewhat confused about a couple of glowing reviews of this hotel on here - I found the place to be utterly charmless and it felt like staying in a hospital (for $250 a night!).

The design of the hotel is hugely disorganised. It feels like they kept adding bits on without thinking how it would all fit together. You are constantly going down long coridoors, up stairs, down stairs and back on yourself to get anywhere.

My room was actually pretty good - some have recently been refurbished - but for the price I would expect it to be. The rest of the facilities and all public spaces are very dated and characterless.

Dinner in the "fine dining" restaurant was as far from fine dining as I have had in Africa. It took forever, was inedible and expensive. I ended up having a Mars Bar from a shop to make up for it.

I only had a night in Lilongwe, but there must be better places than this. If not then I would search out a clean backpackers for a fraction of the costs as this just wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
2.8 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#5 of 13 in Lilongwe
209 reviews
2.7 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#4 of 13 in Lilongwe
99 reviews
5 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 13 in Lilongwe
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 13 in Lilongwe
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#6 of 13 in Lilongwe
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Lilongwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Lilongwe

Address: Kamuzu Procession Road | PO Box 44, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Lilongwe
Price Range: $99 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Lilongwe 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunbird Lilongwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Lilongwe Hotel Lilongwe
Sunbird Hotel Lilongwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing