We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food... Yet to see. Service terrible!”
Review of Latitude 13

Latitude 13
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Lilongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Award nominated chef Richard Greenhall and Andrew O'Hallaran have created an eclectic menu, that transports the diner from Lake Malawi to Asia and the distant Mediterranean.The list of fifty superior wines from South Africa, complements the culinary journey, turning every meal into a special occasion.Dinner in the main restaurant is relaxed, whilst lunch al fresco on the terrace by the pool and gardens, is sublime.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food... Yet to see. Service terrible!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Sitting at Latitude 13 now. Yet to eat any food as waiting for a drinks menu for 1 hour,  same for food. This after a booking mistake on their part, booking for 2 people rather than 3.

So, the food may be great but even if it is, my number one goes to Buchanan's. Great food and attentive service. Sorry Latitude, you've been a big let down!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    65
    18
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great food and atmosphere, but the waitresses were a bit rude,otherwise its very beautiful and i love the decor, its spectacular.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penelope725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob M, Director of Sales at Latitude 13, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your dining experiences at Latitude 13˚. We were obviously concerned to note that you expressed reservations with the service you received and we apologise if one of our serving staff came across as brash. Our property management have had a word with the team in the restaurant and we're confident they will make every effort to extend the warmth and friendliness of Malawi to all guests in the future. We look forward to seeing you for an evening at Latitude 13˚ again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner Out!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed a delicious meal at latitude 13 recently when my wife and I went out for her birthday. The restaurant has modern decor and fittings. The colours are striking blacks & whites with an African feel. The food presentation was great and taste delicious. Would certainly go there again.

The only small issue we had was the noise levels, it was not possible to have a quiet and romantic diner with loud groups on all sides.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatenda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best in Lilongwe”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent service in a nice place, the quality of the food is amazing and the price is excellent. Good place to close business

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Corleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Lilongwe by MILES”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

In the sublime chic of the ex Japanese ambassadorial residence lies this gem of a hotel. Everything works, everything is shiny and clean, nothing is too much trouble. What a shock for a man used to "five star" Malawi where everything is shoddy, tired and nothing works properly.
And it's really cool too. Inspired genius. The only place to stay in town. Really.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryTrafalgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latitude 13 also viewed

Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
 

Been to Latitude 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing