We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in Lilongwe”
Review of Latitude 13 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Latitude 13 Hotel
Hay on Wye
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Lilongwe”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Small hotel with large well equipped bedrooms with excellent decor...super bathroom and shower/s.... attention to detail is evident everywhere, staff are very attentive and well managed by Lisa... Food is really good and excellent value for money... wine list impressive and affordable... This place puts all the other hotels in Lilongwe in the shade... It is really the only place to stay... Only small issue is the swimming pool that is less than inviting ....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
15
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I congratulate the team for a wonderful and superb stay.Everything was faultless and Latitude 13 definitely have the best restaurant in Lilongwe if not in Malawi. The lodge is very private
and respects one's privacy. The furnishings are very comfortable, eclectic and thought provoking - takes your mind elsewhere.

Strongly recommend Latitude 13. Planning to stay many more times and will definitely recommend to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

In a city that does not have much choice when it comes to decent hotels and fine dining, it is a fantastic surprise to find Latitude 13 in of all places, Lilongwe. I am a regular traveler in Africa, Europe, Australia and the US, and this hotel can hold its own anywhere. I have also never encountered such good staff in all of Africa. Deservedly so, Latitude 13 is the talk of town in Lilongwe, so dinner is always busy, vibrant and cosmopolitan. The rooms are huuuuuge, the beds incredibly comfortable, and the shower fantastic. Meals were also superb and healthy. I simply cannot fault Latitude 13 in any way, and I wish I had stayed for longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigMcIntosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was hugely impressed on all fronts. Conveniently located for the airport, in a prime residential district, the entire experience was refreshing when compared to most African cities, when accommodation is frequently dated and tired. The rooms are impressively large in size with the bathroom vast, and the bed very comfortable. If you are lucky enough to get a garden suite then you will also have a small patio area. The staff are phenomenally welcoming and helpful, and the food is top-notch. The restaurant was fully booked most evenings, so would advise ensuring you reserve a table in advance - many of its clients are regulars it would seem, another good sign. Think this boutique hotel has struck a wonderful balance all round!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had the pleasure in staying at the Latitude Thirteen Lilongwe hotel on a recent trip to Malawi.
Having tried most of the other hotels in town, I thought of changing as I was sick and tired of the old, smelly hotels built in the early 80's. Well if miracles do happen, here's one!!
What an exceptional hotel, the staff was outstanding to say the least, well trained and really trying their best to accommodate the client. The restaurant food and ambiance were exceptional and a great wine list to choose from (none of the usual run of the mill SA wines, this has a serious selection). I entertained some clients and started off the night with some cocktails which were mixed to perfection.
Rooms were spotlessly clean and quiet. Free Wi-Fi and Satellite TV rounds up a really pleasant package.
If anyone is visiting Lilongwe, don't bother with any other alternative, this is the spot!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Kugona room, which had a beautiful decor. But each room has it's own identity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fbenettolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

On a business trip to Lilongwe i found it difficult to find a suitable, decent hotel however then i came across Latitude 13. It was perfect for what i was looking for. The staff were so delightful and friendly. The restaurant food was exceptional. I will definitely be returning very soon. All i can say is it will not disappoint. Thanks for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4660neily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We love coming to the warm heart of Africa and are always blown away by the hospitality and friendly nature of the Malawian people. The staff as Latitude 13 did not disappoint. They are welcoming, friendly, helpful and informative. The accommodations are absolutely breathtaking and we plan on making Latitude 13 our home base when in Lilongwe.

The experience is truly five star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
4.4 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
201 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
154 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#5 of 12 in Lilongwe
107 reviews
4.5 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 13 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 13 Hotel

Property: Latitude 13 Hotel
Address: 43/60 Mphonongo Road | Area 43, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 13 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malawi, 'The Warm Heart of Africa', now has Latitude 13° to set the beat.An exclusive boutique hotel combining bold style with instinctive personal service, Latitude brings a unique concept to Lilongwe.The 9 spacious luxurysuites and arguably the best restaurant in Lilongwe, make Latitude 13° theperfect escape for both the business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Latitude 13 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing