We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Latitude 13 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sunbird Capital(Lilongwe)
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simama Hotel(Lilongwe)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madidi Lodge(Lilongwe)
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Logic Inn(Lilongwe)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
70
38
10
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
38
10
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelsplit levellight switchesbathroom mirrorlovely baran oasisbeautiful propertyhome basestaff trainingswimming poolex patsgarden areanice poolnice foodgreat atmosphereup to datethe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 129 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was hugely impressed on all fronts. Conveniently located for the airport, in a prime residential district, the entire experience was refreshing when compared to most African cities, when accommodation is frequently dated and tired. The rooms are impressively large in size with the bathroom vast, and the bed very comfortable. If you are lucky enough to get a garden suite then you will also have a small patio area. The staff are phenomenally welcoming and helpful, and the food is top-notch. The restaurant was fully booked most evenings, so would advise ensuring you reserve a table in advance - many of its clients are regulars it would seem, another good sign. Think this boutique hotel has struck a wonderful balance all round!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had the pleasure in staying at the Latitude Thirteen Lilongwe hotel on a recent trip to Malawi.
Having tried most of the other hotels in town, I thought of changing as I was sick and tired of the old, smelly hotels built in the early 80's. Well if miracles do happen, here's one!!
What an exceptional hotel, the staff was outstanding to say the least, well trained and really trying their best to accommodate the client. The restaurant food and ambiance were exceptional and a great wine list to choose from (none of the usual run of the mill SA wines, this has a serious selection). I entertained some clients and started off the night with some cocktails which were mixed to perfection.
Rooms were spotlessly clean and quiet. Free Wi-Fi and Satellite TV rounds up a really pleasant package.
If anyone is visiting Lilongwe, don't bother with any other alternative, this is the spot!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Kugona room, which had a beautiful decor. But each room has it's own identity.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fbenettolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

On a business trip to Lilongwe i found it difficult to find a suitable, decent hotel however then i came across Latitude 13. It was perfect for what i was looking for. The staff were so delightful and friendly. The restaurant food was exceptional. I will definitely be returning very soon. All i can say is it will not disappoint. Thanks for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4660neily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We love coming to the warm heart of Africa and are always blown away by the hospitality and friendly nature of the Malawian people. The staff as Latitude 13 did not disappoint. They are welcoming, friendly, helpful and informative. The accommodations are absolutely breathtaking and we plan on making Latitude 13 our home base when in Lilongwe.

The experience is truly five star.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our stay in this little oasis of calm in the Malawian capital was wonderful. The friendly attentive staff and management strike the perfect tone, charming when interacting whilst blending into the background when appropriate. The main house holds the public areas of reception, bar and restaurant, decorated with the monochrome minimalist design complimented by unusual modern furniture. This creates a sophisticated feel, a theme present throughout the premises, that provides a welcome cosmopolitan environment in stark contrast to the city itself and any other local hotel/lodge. The quality of food serve at both breakfast and diner was of the highest standards when judged against any premium experience globally and made more enjoyable for being served in both the restaurant area and veranda overlooking the secluded gardens. The Breakfast was extensive and delicious with both healthy and indulgent options. Dinner had modern international influences, excellently executed. On both occasions that we ate, the popularity of the restaurant was obvious by the number of expats coming solely to enjoy dinner. Finally the rooms, again of modern minimalist design offering exceptional space in a most welcome air-conditioned environment. Including a sitting area, furnished with a bespoke L shape sofa, looking out over the gardens through full length retractable doors. Walk up a couple of steps and you are lead to a good quality bed, positioned in the middle of the room. Then behind a dividing wall is a cavernous bathroom/dressingroom area with sunken bath and wet room shower- now with plenty of hot water! Over all, our stay was excellent, being enjoyable, relaxed and fully catered for.

Room Tip: all the same
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews