We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous gardens, a serene escape but close enough to town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ufulu Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ufulu Gardens
Ranked #4 of 22 Lilongwe B&B and Inns
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gardens, a serene escape but close enough to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at Ufulu along with my mother and sister for a week. We stayed in the studio rooms which i loved right away, each had a sitting area, great lighting and furniture and a mini veranda and garden area which was great for me as i like to hang out outside and have a sun downer every now and then. I also had a 2 drinks by the new pool area. The pool is massive and makes for a beautiful scene. There was a wide variety for breakfast when i did wake up in time, it was english breakfasts every morning although service could be a little slow at times, they were very friendly during each encounter i had with them. This place is located a little on the outskirts of the city, which makes for a very peaceful setting, about a 10 min drive into main town i would estimate and it is the closest hotel to the airport.

Room Tip: This is a great place for families. If you have kids you may want to opt for one the appartments so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyoungtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I'd have loved this place if I was just rating on the room, lots of space with a separate living room and large bathroom. Comfortable bed. But this is the first place I stayed in Malawi with no mosquito nets, which were definitely needed. And their internet is atrocious, please just do like every other respectable (and even unrespectable) lodge in Malawi and get skyband. I had to pay for access cards that charged by the hour and worked only half the time (and if they did it was far too slow to be effective). The restaurant has some good options for dinner, but breakfast could use a lot more attention. In sum, good place for sleeping and eating but if you need to get work done while at the lodge, find somewhere else.

Room Tip: Request a room with a mosquito net. They have them, you just have to ask for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed at Ufulu Gardens for a week on business in July 2012. What stroke me immediately was how beautiful the gardens are and the sense of piece and serenity that the place transmits. The room was simple but spacious and comfortable as well as very clean. The staff is also very courteous and try to do their best to meet guests' demands. What I found more difficult was the internet connection and the restaurant food. In principle, there is free wireless by the restaurant/patio area and access through pre-paid cards in the rooms (at USD 2/hour). The free internet is however not reliable due to frequent black-outs and the one in the room is very slow, which makes it very difficult to have either skype calls or regular internet access for business travelers. Also, the meal choices at the restaurants were extremely limited with minimal change from one day to the other. Basically, every day there is a set menu with two mains to choose from, although they often would have only one option if you don't get there early enough. All in all, it is a beautiful place with lots of potential and it would only need to have these two key issues addressed to be much more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lighttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed in Ufulu Gardens in a House for over 2 months in 2011 and found it to be a very welcoming place to stay. The properties were well equipped with DSTV and good cooking facilities (and thankfully always Nali Hot in the fridge!). The breakfast was of good enough quality and served decent Mzuzu coffee everyday.

The homes were kept very clean and the staff were very friendly, but we did have a run-in with the owner on the last evening - complaining about our car alarm each time it was locked (made a toot-toot). We found this incredibly rude and found his threats quite intimidating considering the severity of what happened. This did very much taint my impression of Ufulu gardens, as the staff themselves were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Ufulu Gardens is a wonderful, spacious, relaxing and friendly environment. The chalets are spacious, clean and well furnished. Everything was working and up to date. It's a bit out of town, and reasonably close to the airport. The way the chalets are furnished, it is very well a home away from home. Staff and owners are friendly and professional.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shekinah_V86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just arrived from London after a long day. Pay up front in cash for the room, no cards accepted, cash only. Fine..... I said, bemused.
No wifi as they had run out of pay cards, although it did work apparently. I asked if I could use the administrator password and give them the money. No.
No mosqioto nets. I asked if there were any rooms with mosquito nets. Yes, they said, so they moved us. Why do that?
There are many nicer places to stay in Lilongwe, as I discovered after we bailed out the following morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryTrafalgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Rooms are clean and well presented. Housekeeping was done on a regular basis. The gardens are what set this hotel apart from others in Lilongwe, they provide an oasis of their own, and the hotel terrace provides a place to relax after a hard day. The restaurant is limited, with a set menu every night, and no alternatives. Beware the credit card machine... it only takes visa when it is working, and when we were there it wasn't working most of the time, meaning repeated trips to see if anyone had got any life out of it. If you are staying there to explore or work in Lilongwe you will need transport as the hotel is on the fringe of town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 85-East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
1.9 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.7 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ufulu Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ufulu Gardens

Property: Ufulu Gardens
Address: 43-365 Ufulu Road | Lilongwe 43, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ufulu Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ufulu Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing