We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in a quiet haven”
Review of Lark Cafe

Lark Cafe
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Lilongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated at The Gable End complex, Lark offers a range of salads, wraps, sandwiches and burgers, (and a weekly specials board) all with a healthy twist! Childrens menu available, as are milkshakes, home made iced teas, fresh juices, coolers and delicious coffees - including "Red" coffees. The only supplier in Lilongwe of Satemwa Tea Estate's fusion teas! Childrens playground on site too!
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Our butternut squash and feta did not disappoint. The sweet softness of the squash formed a wonderful contrast to the crunchy vegetable 'crisps' which formed the garnish. A substantial plateful as well! In the spacious walled compound grew a range of trees and shrubs. The play equipment was just right for the bevy of preschoolers using it. What a lovely peaceful setting and large enough for all age groups to enjoy it in their own way.

Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, and for making it such an lovely one - it always makes our work and time at Lark feel so much more worthwhile when people show their appreciation! We hope you will pop in again soon, we look forward to giving you some more chilled out, good food time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 131 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

food is always fresh and generously portioned, never had bad meal there, cant believe any one would give this rating as less than 4 or 5....... if there was any reason for me to give less than 5 it would be that they don't deliver to me in Kanengo ;-)........

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pjacko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderfully positive review. We are so glad you enjoy your times at Lark, it is always great to see you there! As for the delivery situation - now wouldn't that be an amazing thing to be able to do................ we'll work on it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I love Lark Cafe! Every time I visit Lilongwe, it's one of my first stops. The happy, relaxed atmosphere, pretty and comfortable decor and delicious food make this one of the best places to eat in the city. The staff are friendly, well trained and helpful. I can't wait to come again!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Wow - that's put a bounce in our steps and a twinkle in our eyes - thank you so much for such a warming, positive review, and for making our efforts feel so worthwhile. We can't wait to have you back at Lark again on your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The menu is limited, but the special of the day (very often quiche, which I normally don't go for) is consistently amazing. The portions are large and everything comes with a side salad that is one of the best I've ever had anywhere. A typical lunch for 2 is 8-9,000 kwacha, but worth every penny. Service can be a bit slow, especially waiting for the bill, but the food is fabulous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeCarolDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your great review, it really makes our day to hear that our customers enjoy their time and experience at Lark! We apologise that you find the service on the slow side, and will be working hard to improve that. We really hope you visit us again soon, and thank you again for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is one of the best places to visit both for for a morning coffee and healthy breakfast or lunch in Lilongwe. They have delicious salads, wide variety of coffee (big thing for Malawi) and tea, fresh wraps and fruit smoothies. my favorites are Hibiscus Tea and waldorf salad. The place is good both for families and couples. Lark Cafe has a beautiful, huge and open yard where kids can play and parents enjoy their time. it has a very relaxing atmosphere. i would recommend visiting that place at least once if you are staying in Lilongwe. Just be aware that the service is a little bit slow especially during busy lunch hours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Armadilloshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it makes us so happy that you enjoy and appreciate all that we have to offer! We sincerely apologise if you found the service on the slow side, and we will do our best to get that side of Lark speeded up. Do come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lark Cafe also viewed

Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 

Been to Lark Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing