We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch venue but closed on weekends”
Review of Lark Cafe

Lark Cafe
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Lilongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated at The Gable End complex, Lark offers a range of salads, wraps, sandwiches and burgers, (and a weekly specials board) all with a healthy twist! Childrens menu available, as are milkshakes, home made iced teas, fresh juices, coolers and delicious coffees - including "Red" coffees. The only supplier in Lilongwe of Satemwa Tea Estate's fusion teas! Childrens playground on site too!
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Not a bad place but tried to go there a few times and it was closed. Some nice big salads and friendly service. Some great coffee and very laid back atmosphere. It is expensive for Malawi but in comparison to the other drab places in Lilongwe it is ahead of the other cafes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thanks very much for your feedback, and I am sorry you found us closed when you tried to visit. We always close for a few weeks break in Dec/January, but apart from that we are open on a Saturday for breakfast and lunch until 2pm. I do hope you will manage to join us soon for that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 122 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great variety, great service, great food. I travel to Malawi about once or twice a year and it has and will continue to be my favorite place for lunch. Everything is very well done, including the coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to review us, and for such positive and complimentary feedback. The only pity is that you only manage to visit us a couple of times a year! We really look forward to seeing you again on your next trip, hope it won't be too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Living in the North of Malawi, when we come down to the "Big Smoke" of Lilongwe, there is nothing we look forward to more than lunch with good friends at this excellent garden setting restaurant. We love the food, the salads, generous serves. Price is a bit up there but everything's relative, right? The coffee and the way it's served is perfect. Atmosphere is also excellent. We find the service very gracious and professional. If you think it's slow...you must be out of sync with the place. It's all about relaxing with friends & family and enjoying great food. Honestly, we're crazy about the place. Ah! Attention to detail, that's it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your amazing review - it always gives us such a boost when someone truly appreciates the time, effort and pride we put into our Lark! Thank you too for mentioning the attention to detail - we always try make it just that "little bit special", and it makes it all the more worthwhile when it is noticed and appreciated. We look forward to having you again soon on your next visit to the big city - and a big thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

lark is a relaxed and family friendly restaurant. On weekends we enjoy taking the kids there for a play whilst we have coffee and brunch. They have great menus for kids and adults. The service is great!

Thank Tatenda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lark is a great place to relax in Lilongwe over a light lunch. it is not cheap for the overall standard of the city but the wraps are excellent quality, full of lovely fresh ingredients. We have only ever sat in the garden and service is not rapid but I would still recommend it.

Thank PertenhallSteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lark Cafe also viewed

Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 

Been to Lark Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing