We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Lark Cafe

Lark Cafe
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Lilongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated at The Gable End complex, Lark offers a range of salads, wraps, sandwiches and burgers, (and a weekly specials board) all with a healthy twist! Childrens menu available, as are milkshakes, home made iced teas, fresh juices, coolers and delicious coffees - including "Red" coffees. The only supplier in Lilongwe of Satemwa Tea Estate's fusion teas! Childrens playground on site too!
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What looks like a five year old's idyllic setting for a tea party also serves as a respite from Lilongwe. The owners and staff are excellent. My favorite is the grilled cheese with onion marmalade. Lovely cappuccino and great ice cream! Downsides: pricey and odd hours lead to difficulty getting there before closing time (hence the very good).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shubhada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi there! We really appreciate your lovely review, and are so glad you managed to find us eventually! Hope to see you there again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

An unusual selection of tasty and wholesome dishes. Seems to be THE place to be seen amongst the local professionals and Malwianised foreigners (mostly women!), A great little spot; a bit difficult to find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RobD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

We would like to thank you so much for your wonderful review, and feel very happy that you enjoy Lark and what we have to offer. We hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A bit out of the way if you don't have a car but well worth it. Great family run business. Salads are great value and the milkshakes rock!

Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

I am so happy to hear that you enjoy your time at Lark - thank you for taking the time to show your appreciation - it makes our work feel all the more worth doing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It has been a year since Lark opened it's doors and what a great addition it has been to our daily lives! Coffee, breakfast, brunch, lunch..... friends, family, fantastic cakes.... Great food, garden setting, have I mentioned the coffee?
Jean and Trysh are always around to ensure that the service and food is consistently excellent.
Well worth a visit - and bring your kids along - the garden is geared for little ones.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Naylas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Wow - thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation, which make all our hard work, effort and long hours feel so worthwhile! Thank you for giving us the encouragement to keep going, and I hope you spend many more happy hours at Lark!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

After many years in Lilongwe Lark offers a refreshigly new venue for family lunches. Excellent menu with a healthy approach to fresh foods. Playground for kids keeps them entertained whilst you wait for your scrumptious meal. Thanks guys and keep it up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barrelmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it makes our work so worthwhile when customers appreciate our meals and utilities! We look forward to having you back here with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lark Cafe also viewed

Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 

Been to Lark Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing