We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LARK it there!”
Review of Lark Cafe

Lark Cafe
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Lilongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated at The Gable End complex, Lark offers a range of salads, wraps, sandwiches and burgers, (and a weekly specials board) all with a healthy twist! Childrens menu available, as are milkshakes, home made iced teas, fresh juices, coolers and delicious coffees - including "Red" coffees. The only supplier in Lilongwe of Satemwa Tea Estate's fusion teas! Childrens playground on site too!
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It has been a year since Lark opened it's doors and what a great addition it has been to our daily lives! Coffee, breakfast, brunch, lunch..... friends, family, fantastic cakes.... Great food, garden setting, have I mentioned the coffee?
Jean and Trysh are always around to ensure that the service and food is consistently excellent.
Well worth a visit - and bring your kids along - the garden is geared for little ones.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Naylas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Wow - thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation, which make all our hard work, effort and long hours feel so worthwhile! Thank you for giving us the encouragement to keep going, and I hope you spend many more happy hours at Lark!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 125 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

After many years in Lilongwe Lark offers a refreshigly new venue for family lunches. Excellent menu with a healthy approach to fresh foods. Playground for kids keeps them entertained whilst you wait for your scrumptious meal. Thanks guys and keep it up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barrelmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it makes our work so worthwhile when customers appreciate our meals and utilities! We look forward to having you back here with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Following a good review (and in need of a new place to try in Lilongwe), we had a weekend lunch at larks. The large yard replete with trampoline and jungle gym make it a good spot if you have small ones in tow. For adults, while finding it nice to dine outdoors, the garden is not very attractive. The menu sounded most interesting and we debated long before deciding...and we both disappointed. Neither the sandwich nor burger were anything out of the ordinary, the salads quite bland and the prices on the high side. We took home some brownies which turned out to be the best part of the meal, and the other desserts on display looked tempting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ADTLilongwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us - our salads and burgers are always raved about so I feel very disappointed that yours were not up to scratch, and I sincerely apologise for that. I do hope you will give us another try and that next time we will meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A great place for a morning coffee and cake or a lovely big salad lunch. Free wifi and great banana milkshakes on offer too.

Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time - and food - with us! I hope you will be able to join us again, and thank you so much for your great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Perfect for a light lunch in delightful gardens.
Somewhat hidden away but all the better and private.
Children are catered for with play equipment to keep them amused .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hodlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your lovely feedback - I do hope you will be able to join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lark Cafe also viewed

Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
 

Been to Lark Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing