We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average business oriented hotel and needs some improvement”
Review of Sunbird Capital

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunbird Capital
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Lilongwe
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times travel to Lilongwe. The rooms are good and comfortable and the garden is beautiful. The staff are friendly and helpful. However the service at the reception is slow and only one computer was working, as a result it takes more then half an hour to check in and out. It's not close to the urban facilities and the restaurant at the hotel needs to improve the food selection. The location is quite convenient if you have meetings around the Capital Hill.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlkaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 209 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

There is nothing charming about this hotel. This is really an business oriented hotel with no charm at all. The room (business) are nice and comfy, but this is really the only thing positive about the hotel.

The restaurant is average except for the nice pizzas that are prepared outside.

The staff is helpful, and polite, but this is quite common in Malawi, where tourism is getting bigger.

Overall except for business I do not recommend this hotel, you can find better places for cheaper in Lilongwe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garpison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times travelling through Lilongwe. It has a warm feeling, extremely nicely kept gardens and everything you need. If you understand Lilongwe in the context of Malawi and Africa in general, the hotel deserves an extra star, pushing 4.

It is not very close to other urban facilities, but it wouldn't be as quiet as it is if it was located nearer to the busy areas of town. It is assumed that you'd have your own car or taxi w driver which would diminish completely the difficulty of being away from the center of noisy activity.

As I have been working in a more remote part of the country, it is particularly delightful to arrive at this comfortable accomodation. It is also nice when arriving from abroad. It is possible to be landed with a less than desirable room as some have contributors have mentioned, but I have been lucky every time.

Breakfast outside in the patio, while not 5-star, has a very nice atmosphere and the food selection (once again, it's Africa, remember, and one of the poorest countries on earth) is very adequate.

The staff are quite nice and if you're wearing a smile and are at all fun-loving, They will more than rise to the occasion.

Room Tip: Nice to get a room overlooking the pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We arrived after a day's travel from London and only stayed one night, so we didn't have a chance to try out all the facilities. Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful, our waiter at dinner went out of his way to ensure we got everything we wanted, even what wasn't on the menu.
The hotel is being renovated in places as it's a bit "tired", so hopefully they'll get an upgrade soon, 2 star rating does not seem justified.
Slept solid for 12 hours in a very very comfortable bed.
Convenient for travel from the airport and to drive on to Salima / Senga Bay at the Western shore of Lake Malawi.
Favourite bit: proper strong filter coffee available pretty much around the clock everywhere in the hotel, for a coffee addict like me - a dream!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room on the business floor which comes with a separate reception and lounge ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvaM_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was my second stay at the hotel and was in some ways worst than the first. In particular, one of the two restaurants is undergoing major renovations (June 2012), which limits the choice to the indoor restaurant, Tidye, on reception level. But the worst thing about this hotel is the noise.

The hotel has a marquee in its large grounds and it's used regularly at weekends - in other words, at times when guests are more likely to be in their rooms. I was initially given a room overlooking the marquee and, knowing from past experience how noisy this could be, I managed to get an upgrade to a quieter executive room - good service on the part of the Duty Manager. I would also like to point out that when the people in the room next door seemed to be having a noisy party, the hotel acted swiftly and put a stop to it.

Unfortunately, all this goodwill was wrecked on my last day in the hotel (Saturday June 9th). Not only was there an event in the marquee but another one in the Garden. Result? A pervading racket of music! Just before I left, I went down to have a look. The music had been going for the better part of two hours but the guests had still not arrived. So, presumably, the noise would carry on well into the evening.

The marquee at least is avoidable, but the Garden event just smacks of greed at the expense of the hotel's customers having to suffer noise. This is not acceptable in a hotel of this quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does NOT overlook the pool (avoids marquee noise) and check what events are pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simmonad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

It isn't a five star hotel so don't expect that. It is a bit dated in the main hotel but they have renovated a large part of the hotel rooms and they are nice. Big bed, good bathroom, flat screen tv , fridge and safe.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Food is good, had lovely steak and chips and nice wine.
Wifi is fast and you can buy vouchers by the MB not hour.
Once you are in the room you could easily be in any nice hotel anywhere in the world.
Pool is dated but ok to cool off.
Daytime BBQ by poolside is nice.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adair1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a comfortable hotel and very well positioned in Lilongwe for interactions with Government or other businesses. Although the hotel is ageing the rooms are certainly comfortable and the internet access is good. Staff were certainly friendly and helpful but the hotel restaurant is looking tired nd the menu is in need of an upgrade. A little less value for money than some other hotels - as I managed to stay in a 4* hotel in Blantyre for less but it is better than its sister hotel in Lilongwe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
0.3 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#4 of 13 in Lilongwe
99 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#9 of 13 in Lilongwe
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 13 in Lilongwe
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 13 in Lilongwe
130 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#2 of 13 in Lilongwe
217 reviews
3 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Capital

Address: Chilembwe Road, Lilongwe 3, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Lilongwe
Price Range: $116 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbird Capital 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbird Capital (formerly Le meridian Capital) in Lilongwe Malawi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunbird Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Capital Lilongwe
Sunbird Capital Hotel Lilongwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing