We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A happy, friendly atmosphere in a beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Africa House Malawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Africa House Malawi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A happy, friendly atmosphere in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Africa House is the perfect guest house. The building itself is beautiful, spacious and well designed. The rooms are large and comfortable with good facilities. The atmosphere is calm and peaceful and the staff are warm, friendly and attentive.

In comparison with other Lilongwe hotels and guests houses, Africa House has the nicest atmosphere - I think this is mostly because the staff are a very special group of people. They seem to genuinely enjoy their work and the company of their colleagues. It's not unusual to hear laughter and singing from the kitchen, or to see gardeners practising their somersaults on the lawn, cheered on by the manager. All this creates a relaxed and friendly environment that is a pleasure to return to at the end of a busy day - a bit like coming home to a family.

The service is excellent and every request receives a quick response. The food is very good and if you don't happen to fancy what is on the set menu, the chef will usually produce something else. (Or Ufulu Gardens is just across the road with a more extensive menu.)

For consultants or business people on work trips, if you don't want to be stuck in your room there are many quiet, cool places, indoors and outdoors, to set up a laptop and work undisturbed (using the free Wi-Fi which, for Malawi, is pretty reliable) or to hold a meeting. Families, children and couples come and go as well, and the place is spacious enough for everyone to enjoy it in their own way - whether working or holidaying.

The prices are very competitive and the best value I have seen in Lilongwe, especially if you get a long-stay discount.

I've tried other places in Lilongwe, but from now on I won't bother. Africa House is the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
7
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I can't believe I didn't know about this place earlier. It's clean, it's gorgeous, it's comfortable. It's also in a quiet, residential neighborhood but not too far from town, nor the airport. It has a very beautiful ambiance and decor. It has a very competitive price, esp. when considering that internet is included. Rooms are clean. The restaurant makes great dinners and breakfast is also very good. They could provide a more extensive lunch menu, but they were happy to be flexible and provide items off menu. It makes for a lovely place for a work visit, even to hold small meetings. Service is almost too good. I will never stay anywhere else in Lilongwe now that I have discovered this gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very lovely hotel with a great staff and beautiful ambiance. Breakfast is lovely. And the rooms are each themed as a different African country. I would definitely recommend this place anyone looking for a quiet place to work or relax.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GES123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
290 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fabulous guesthouse, reluctant to write a review just in case there is no room for me next time I visit Lilongwe! Lovely rooms, food was great, a little gym with all new equipment, pool and garden... all for a very reasonable price when comparing with hotels in Lilongwe. Friendly staff, personal touch, and wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms are larger as they become more expensive, but even the smaller rooms are lovely. The generator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

For me, Africa House is great and I stayed there some 15 days (21 July-04 August) while working in Malawi and it was my second visit too as I had stayed there some 7 days in June. It has good meals (but limited choices, which I personally like--no fussing about what to eat and the food comes to the table almost immediately!) friendly and helpful staff, a pleasant atmosphere and a homey feel. However, I must be frank as to why I like Africa House-- I am a consultant and I can get my work done there! They provide internet and they are close to the centre of Lilongwe while being in a refreshing and airy part of it. You can rely on them to take care of you while you concentrate on your work. For example, they serve a nice breakfast with good coffee so as to get you going in the morning and generally take care of your special needs (like bringing a sandwich to your room if you are pounding away on the computer somewhere). You will find a lot of people at the Africa House like me--on business and especially involved in helping the country. By that I mean, people from NGOs, funding agencies and relief agencies. The people staying there are good hearted and kind people but busy and so don't expect too much chatter! Maybe not the place to fall in love but a great place nonetheless.

Room Tip: Look, its a small place and not some big hotel. All the rooms are good and they keep the place clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zomba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I spent a night at Africa House with my 5 year old daughter and it was absolutely great. Although it mostly caters for business people the welcome my daughter and I received was fantastic. The food was great (they do serve a set menu but if you have special wishes you can make this known to the staff), the staff was great, the room excellent. The pool is lovely, a bit cold in the cold season but once we braved it, it was lovely. We had a great time and I can recommend it to everyone. Thank you so much all at Africa House.

Room Tip: All rooms are great as they have been decorated with such taste and care, it is a joy to stay in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannover
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had a good time during my stay at Africa House . My room was nicely decorated and there is a good atmosphere.
Dinner at the woodfire is nice, and the food is good.
Common area is really nice and spacious. Staffa and manager are Always assisting when needed. I was surprised there was a gym to do my daily exercise
If possible I will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann-marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
4.6 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.7 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 46 in Lilongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa House Malawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa House Malawi

Property: Africa House Malawi
Address: 43 Ufulu Road, Area, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Africa House Malawi is a stylish contemporary lodge, created from a unique blend of African designs, furniture, fabrics and our personal collectables. The lodge has a varied collection of rooms, all en suite, and a restaurant for residents to dine in. Each room is named after an African country or culture and decorated in that particular style. During many years of experience and travel in Africa we have collected traditional arts and crafts; this collection shows how traditional cultures make use of locally available materials. Whether the material used is wood, stone, beads, paint, metal, fabric or leather, African people continue to make powerful statements about their cultures and create an extraordinary and rich heritage of artistic expression.This and working in the tourism and hospitality industry for more than 15 years, makes Africa House Malawi a true destination with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Africa House Malawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing