We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Annie's Lilongwe Executive Lodge Area 10
rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“can do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

i like a quiet nice place like annies i am currently in lilongwe for two weeks and am going to visit this place again nice beds and nice atmosphere to stay only one thing left they need to upgrade on the walls and make improvement and then i am sure everyone will like this place better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank storialba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
4
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

After having a not very good experience at Annie's in Zomba, I decided to try the one in Lilongwe. Located in a leafy suburb, this former bungalow has a pretty garden. Unfortunately, the rooms really need updating. The bathroom fixtures were chipped, the front of the AC unit fell off, there was no remote for the TV (I was told that all of them in the hotel were in the shop for repair, at the same time). I was given tea and a mug in the room but no kettle. When I asked for the kettle, I was told I'd get one, but it never materialized. All of my food orders were garbled and I didn't ever get quite what I ordered, and there is no option to go elsewhere for food if you don't have a car. I wasn't told that there is free internet there, so I bought an internet card, but the purchased internet service never worked in my room. The free service was available in my room but the signal was feeble and faded in and out all night. Although the neighborhood is quiet, an insane dog barked for large parts of the night next door. All of these things I might be able to put up with if the price were lower, but for eighty bucks a night, I felt like I was really being fleeced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcmauburkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lilongwe hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Annie's Lodge in Area 10 is a beautiful and quiet place to relax for a couple of days. The garden is big and well maintained, the rooms are very spacious and the food is nice and can be enjoyed on the beautiful outside terrace. It's within walking distance of a supermarket and the staff is very willing to arrange any other transport if needed. Would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone who's looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay in Lilongwe!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasja19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Lilongwe isn't a very nice place and there don't appear to be very many nice places to stay. Annie's Lodge is nice enough, certainly nothing memorable. They have a generator, which is good because the power is always going off all over town, although it isn't always powerful enough to take care of your needs, and they don't always run it. Also, they don't provide free internet, which would be nice as internet cards are expensive. Location is okay; the garden is pretty and there are some decent restaurants not too far away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andnobodyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
3.7 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
4.2 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie's Lilongwe Executive Lodge Area 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Lilongwe Executive Lodge Area 10

Property: Annie's Lilongwe Executive Lodge Area 10
Address: 285 Chilanga Drive, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annie's Lilongwe Executive Lodge Area 10 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Area 10 Guest House is situated in one of the safest and most prestigious residential areas of Lilongwe. The guest house is set in a large evergreen garden and offers a tranquil environment for our guests, traveling either on business or pleasure to relax in.All the rooms have en-suite bathroom facilities with bath and shower, DSTV, full internet access and air conditioning. At our Area 10 Lodge we are also able to guarantee a constant supply of electricity and water.All rates include a full English breakfast on our beautiful outdoor terrace.We have 3 different kinds of rooms:Superior rooms, executive rooms and 2 self-catering flats.Having been established for more than a decade, our Area 10 Guest House has earned an excellent reputation with a number of embassies and foreign aid agencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annie's Lilongwe Executive Lodge Area 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing