We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huts Restaurant

Huts Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 69 Restaurants in Lilongwe
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Hut's, where delivering mouth-watering flavors, fresh ingredients, and exceptional service is our passion. With pride, we present the culinary pearls of fine Indian Cuisine straight out of my kitchen to your plate. Hut's has earned a name synonymous with quality food and sincere service, that won't break your bank. We're located off Kamuzu Procession Road, near Lilongwe Hotel. Call us for directions. Call to make your reservation or place an order. 0888821533 0999821533. Mon-Sat noon - 1.30pm, 6.15pm to 9.30pm. Sunday closed.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

As much as I really like the cute couple that run this place and really wanted to like it, the food just isn't very good. This has easily been the oiliest Indian food I've had in Lilongwe. I literally had to siphon off the oil from the top of my tikka masala. Yuck. I'd rank it last among the options.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodlover1900, Owner at Huts Restaurant, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Hello Jonathan,

I want to start off by thanking you for your review of Huts Restaurant. I want to also acknowledge that you were not 100% satisfied with the food you had ordered. If you didn't already do so on your visit, I'd ask that you notify your server or myself (Meena) on changes you'd like to the food. On your next visit, we'd be happy to reserve you your dish - with less oil :)

Kindly,
Meena Goutam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian food, tasteful and excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

My first Indian curry in this part of Africa, being from Britain I am used to great curries. The service was great, very nice owners. The food was excellent, best curry I have had since I moved to Malawi a couple of years ago. 9/10.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r4012xtro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice decent food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Was there in December last year. Wanted some flavorful food for a change ( I love spicy food) and came across Huts - ate there thrice during my 2 day stay.

Food was excellent and the owners are nice people.

Highly Recommend.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtHana10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prawns to die for, finger-licking good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Food is simply amazing. I consider myself a well-traveled person, visited 5 continents, and I will admit that I've just tasted the best prawns ever. The service was top notch, ambiance delightful and very welcoming owners. Huts Restaurant was priced right, fine dining and a very moderate price.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugY2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

The food at Huts is really good, very authentic and well done. The owners are incredibly friendly and love to chat with the customers. A great dining experience!

  • Visited August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank umdchic17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huts Restaurant also viewed

Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 

Been to Huts Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing