We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right at the Center of Lilongwe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crossroads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crossroads Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right at the Center of Lilongwe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

I loved the lighting of this hotel. Customer service is good. I was shocked at how many times they clean their rooms, lol. right before check in its organized a certain way,soon after check in, you walk out a bit and you return to find another clean up has been done, with a sweet and a review questionaire rights by your bed side obviously placed for your to fill. My visit was filled with so much renovation activity and memos saying this or the other will be non functional, the pool was under renovation and the hot water was turned off for some time. I wish they could include tho their pricing Wi-fi as a complimentary, but u have to keep buying it :-(. Their beddings are white and clean, their towels have seen days though. I continue to say , service is good and everyone is willing to help and advice accordingly. Its a bed and break fast (buffet)- variety they have , I must say.

Oh, I forgot, I didnt like the noise from the fridge in the room as well as the noise from the air conditioner right outside the window. Keep up your service tho.

Room Tip: Prefferably a single room with one bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 256Mercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Officer at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Crossroads Hotel.

Please be assured that Crossroads Hotel has earmarked the ease to accessing Wi-Fi in the Hotel by including it to the room charge as a priority. However this may not be in effect at the soonest as negotiations regarding the same are still underway between our Internet Service Provider and the Hotel.

The refurbishment program that the Hotel has set out includes the purchase of new bathroom linen. As long as this is achieved, then you are assured of super clean, soft and comfortable towels for use. If you have any strict issues with the quality of the towels, our Housekeeping Team is more than willing to change them for you at your request.

I would also like to inform you that the pool renovations will be done within a weeks time and you shall enjoy your time to unwind in this summer on your next visit to Crossroads Hotel.

Thank you for all your contributions and we sincerely hope to welcome you back to Crossroads Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    54
    51
    11
    6
See reviews for
1
10
5
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The first time I stayed here I was given a "standard" room (rooms 1-45). Avoid at all costs. Small, dirty, run-down, with broken furniture and appliances.

The second time, I discovered the "deluxe" rooms are little better. And I changed "deluxe" rooms repeatedly because I said I didn't want a room facing the restaurant / kitchen - the staff there spend all evening yelling at each other. What was I given? Three different rooms overlooking the restaurant / kitchen. The sullen receptionist's explanation? She was just the receptionist and didn't know where the rooms were located. And, yes, the deluxe rooms are less than clean and have broken lamps, furniture, etc.

Sad that a dump like this could be rated the "3rd best" in Lilongwe. Cannot recommend.





Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JTPR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Officer at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your review.

The Crossroads Hotel Team read your review with a heavy heart knowing how unpleasant your stay must have been. It was very unfortunate that you were not assisted with your room situation to the standards that the Crossroads Hotel carries. It is also sad that we did not fulfill one of our major priorities which is to serve customers in a way that meets and exceeds their expectations. I therefore would like to apologize for the unpleasant stay you had on your last visit to the Hotel.

The rooms that Crossroads Hotel has; standard and deluxe rooms, are constantly checked to ensure all facilities and furniture in the rooms are properly functioning and that all are to the highest of standards of Crossroads Hotel. However in the case of non-cleanliness, broken furniture and malfunctioning appliances in the rooms, The Crossroads Hotel Team is more than willing to sort out any problems that may arise due to these.

Please be assured that we have taken your review seriously and we shall do everything possible to keep the standards of Crossroads Hotel to the highest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lilongwe hotels

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Crossroads Hotel is situated in the old town of Lilongwe. You feel welcome and the rooms are strait forward. A few things did not work in my room, but it was fixed in no time by polite employees. The dining area is also very convenient. I had a comfortable stay. The only annoying thing was rude and noisy American relief workers, but this had nothing to do with Crossroads Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arild S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Officer at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing Crossroads Hotel as your destination of choice in Lilongwe.

I am very pleased that all the problem you faced in your room on arrival were fixed in a snap. The Crossroads Hotel Team always wishes to meet customer needs and exceed their expectations.

We value your review and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We chose Crossroads Hotel based on four simple criteria - Price, wi-fi, free breakfast and a pool whilst paying attention to previous reviews.
Discovering on arrival that the pool was full of builders rather than water was a distinct disappointment and you would expect my review to reflect that. However, I have only good things to say about our stay. Had we been forewarned about the pool, which I feel should have been the case, we may well have looked elsewhere and missed out on a very enjoyable stay. The highlights were an excellent free breakfast and staff who were always friendly, curteous and helpful. The food was varied and delicious and not rationed. We ate like kings and no tummy troubles.
Our air conditioned room had very comfortable beds, a safe, fridge, kettle and hairdryer.
There was also a well equipped gym.
The location is excellent with a variety of shops nearby and a bureau de change next door which offered a bank beating exchange rate.
A special thank you to James on reception who was very professional and especially helpful.
We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Officer at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review.

The Crossroads Hotel Team thought of making the time you choose to unwind more memorable by having the pool renovated to the right condition. The pool is still under maintenance and we hope to have it ready in the next few weeks.

I am very pleased you enjoyed everything else that comes with staying at Crossroads Hotel.

Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was really well cared for at Crossroads. The staff did their best to accommodate my request for a specific room and were kind, respectful, and patient. The rooms on the 2nd floor are much newer, cleaner, and quieter and I had an excellent and restful experience at Crossroads. I think that this hotel is an excellent option for business travelers because of its location, the flexibility of the hotel to accommodate last minute requests, and the restaurant that offers different cuisines for most taste profiles and at odd hours. The gym is an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wodaabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Officer at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Great review.

We are all very pleased you enjoyed the services you received during your stay with us.

See you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

include wifi network in the fee & do away with sky bands., provide a variety of drinks, like juice & other soft drinks. the location does not match the hotel`s credential. however this can be improved by cleaning up the surrounding environment. credit to both staff members and members of the public due their habit of hospitality.I enjoyed the back ground jazz sounds in the lobby and the bar. I did not like the fact that sometimes there was no hot water in my bathroom and I had to face the day without a shower.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Officer at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Many thanks for your review.

I would like to apologize for the water situation that forced you to have a cold shower during your stay with us. Our water boiling system developed a fault that caused other rooms to not experience any hot water. This problem is however rectified and you are assured of a hot shower on your next visit.

With regards to Internet, I would like to let you know that we are doing everything we can to have it priced to the room charge. However this might not be in effect at the soonest but be assured that The Crossroads Hotel Management Team has earmarked it as a priority.

Thank you for also bringing in your suggestions with regards to having drinks other than mere water in the rooms. The Hotel does not provide for this on complimentary basis but can arrange for your minibar to be stocked to your preference at a charge.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Crossroads Hotel is well used by NGOs for meetings and trainings. My NGO held two trainings there and it is excellent in all regards.

Guests are given a small orange juice at the front desk as they check-in, a good small but telling touch of their thoughtfulness.

Some of the rooms are being renovated and upgraded, mainly closest to the reception area. The Deluxe rooms are finished the upgrade. All the rooms are clean and well serviced. Good laundry service.

Breakfast and lunch are buffet style that works efficiently for large groups. In addition, they cook eggs to order.

In the evening we ate at the Copper Pot restaurant that has a wide variety of freshly prepared dinners from Asian to Pakistani to Western. I believe the chef is Pakistani. They are very solicitous and helpful.

The General Manager seems to be always on the move, checking to see that everything is running properly and guests' need are met; even in the dinning room.

You can check e-mail in a small business center.

Some small clothing shops, grocery store and a fast food restaurant are located in small mini-mall just outside the hotel.

The courtyard with a swimming pool is a pleasant open space with well tended garden.

The staff and service couldn't be better.

Room Tip: Ask for Deluxe for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerBill34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Officer at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
The Crossroads Hotel Team appreciates your review.

There is more for you to enjoy and we sincerely hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
3.0 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.4 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossroads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Hotel

Property: Crossroads Hotel
Address: Mchinji Roundabout | Crossroads Complex, PO Box X1, Lilongwe, Malawi
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crossroads Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossroads Hotel offers guests an illustrious and unforgettable stay. Adjacent to the Crossroads Shopping Complex, on the Mchinji roundabout, the hotel is located within minutes of the central business district, and only 25 minutes from Kamuzu International Airport. The hotel combines business services, contemporary dining and state of the art conference facilities, appealing to both leisure and business travellers, offering convenience and easy access to the city’s finest amenities and 124KMs north – east of Lake Malawi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crossroads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing