We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mabuya Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mabuya Camp
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just a few minutes walk from central lilongwe, mabuya camp is a great plce to spend the night (or the fortnight!). Choose from dorms, single rooms, chalets or tents for hire, all clean and well maintained. This place has a great pool table, a pool, a braii, and most importantly, a bar! The food is good, if a tiny bit expensive. Most importantly, the owners Tom and Janey are around all the time if you have any questions about other places to stay, things to do etc all over southern africa. Great atmosphere, great staff, great dogs, great time!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    38
    25
    15
See reviews for
8
53
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is one of the best places to stay, very rustic, very Africa. The locals that come in on a nightly basis are all fantastic people, and the staff are all very personable, friendly, helpful, and know the area very well. I would recommend Mabuya Camp to anyone, at any time. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is great, the food is outstanding, and the bar is a blast! Nothing but good times.

Room Tip: I liked the a-frame, but it is a little musty smelling. The chalets are nicer, but it's just ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LILONGWE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

One time in December 2011 I spent three nights at Mabuya Camp. Though not easy to come by, once one is there, one gets tempted to think that there could not have been a better location. Although I was the only black guest, except for all the black members staff that I saw, whom I later found to be very helpful, the rest of the guests being white, I enjoyed the quiet environment, the internet 24 hours, fairly priced, the excellent food, and I enjoyed the professional contact that I had with three other men guests.I must confess I so much hankered to be in the hostels, but some how I restrained myself to a room. I realized people of my calibre almost never go there -legislators. I would like to go there again this year in June.

Room Tip: I consider rooms on the left as you enter from the gate, more conveniently located
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Immanuel Bofomo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

The price is too high for what you get compared to many other hostels we've stayed at in Africa. Its in dire need of a facelift or a washing of the walls and some upkeep.
Rooms are dank and worn. Mosquito nets have multiple large holes. Food is ok but pricey for what you get. Staff is friendly but failed to pick us up from the airport after confirming that they would. We stayed for 2 nights and wouldn't return but I think this is all that is offered in Lilongwe. Others we talked to loved the place but we just didn't see the appeal...maybe we were missing something.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lilongwe hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Not just a place to stay but a home! The owners are 2 of the nicest people I have ever met. So welcoming. The staff in general were all very welcoming and helpful. The socializing was great and a great way of meeting people from all over the world. The pool and grounds are great, perfectly situated, within walking distance of the town. The variety of food is fantastic though a little expensive when staying for a long time. The accommodation was basic, but clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. Hot showers daily, use of good wifi, BBQ, pool table and TV. Would recommend it to anyone great value and a fantastic place to stay!!

Room Tip: If you like your quiet try get a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVEmalawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

First time to Malawi but not the last. Mabuya camp is to place to be. "A" frames are great - if you can afford them. The variety of food is fantastic. All the staff made me feel so welcome.
I stayed there for 10 days & would highly recommend it. its far enough out of town but close enough still to walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annewalsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed at Mabuya twice recently and would have stayed a third time but they were full. Yes the rooms are musty. I suspect the recent rains and the thatched roof have something to do with it. However, the rooms were otherwise clean. The socializing is great but can go on a little late. The pool and grounds are simply great. In the middle of Lilongwe, its an oasis. Though its nice to be able to have a decent meal without leaving, nearby options offer much better quality at lower prices. The ablutions are communal and basic and not particularly private. We felt welcome and liked the staff very much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyramblinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
1.0 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
3.9 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hermitage Lodge
The Hermitage Lodge
#7 of 23 in Lilongwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabuya Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabuya Camp

Property: Mabuya Camp
Address: Livingstone Road, Lilongwe Private Bag A 54, Malawi (Formerly Kiboko Camp)
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Lilongwe
Hotel Class:1 star — Mabuya Camp 1*
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing