We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cluny Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cluny Lodge
Ranked #1 of 23 Lilongwe B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Cluny Lodge. Right from the first email I knew it was going to be a great experience…friendly, prompt responses back.

Upon arrival I was right away introduced to the other guests staying at the lodge. This was really lovely as I was travelling alone…gave the lodge a very welcoming/home-like vibe.

My room was very clean and a pleasant place to stay. Hot showers, excellent dinner and breakfast options were nice too.

But it was the owners and staff that really made the Cluny Lodge special. I have travelled a great deal through Africa on my own and I have never had an experience quite like this in terms of the sincerity and kindness of the people. I only stayed one single night and the experience had an impression on me. I am so delighted I found the Cluny Lodge online…I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
12
19
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I spent few days in Lilongwe for business purposes. The lodge is situated close to Crossroad mall. It's in a very quiet and safe area, where I had also the chance to do some running (but beware of dogs!). The service was excellent, the landlord is always trying to accommodate the needs of his guests. I stayed in a very large room, the bed was very comfortable and there was a good selection of TV channels for the spare time. They serve very good meals, even though I much preferred the dinner compared to the breakfast, which is ok too (probably they could provide a little bit more variety of fruit). There is also a nice dining room, where one can enjoy at any time coffee, tea and biscuits. Internet speed is ok if you need to have normal skype calls or for checking emails. The rooms are clean and the bathroom too. A couple of suggestions for improving this already excellent place: a little fitness center and fixing little details in the rooms (tiles in the toilet were old, the shower column too close to the wall, more hangers in the wardrobe). All in all an enjoyable stay, a good place for business with the feeling of staying at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilvioD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is all you need when in Lilongwe for a short or long period. Cluny Lodge is two adjacent residential villas in a quiet area of Lilongwe. The rooms are large and comfortable, the wifi works as it should. The owners/managers are very friendly and helpful, and home cooked evening meals are available. The area is quiet, and you are woken up by African birdsong in the morning. Highly recommended for private or business travelers. A few negative observations: There is no swimming pool, and some of the rooms could do with a new coat of paint. But these are minor things, easily outweighed by the friendly environment and the good food!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_Stockevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been using Trip Advisor for many years. This is my first review. It has to be shared that the Cluny Lodge is truly a paradise of comfort, serenity, kindness, and care. The owners are incredibly considerate and attentive. The staff are organized to respectfully ensure guests experience a quiet haven during stays. My time in Lilongwe came with a few "hiccups". However, staying at Cluny helped me to get over the bumps and maintain my calm. All in all this is a wonderful place for travelers and I recommend it for anyone--singles, couples, and families!

Room Tip: Be sure to share your preferences while communicating with the owners. They have a knack for making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCT31twelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

In July and August 2013 I spent 5 weeks in Malawi and decided for Cluny Lodge to be the place to stay the night after arrival and the two night before leave.

The owners are lovely people who really care for their customers. If you book here, they keep in contact, book your taxi from the airport and provide whatever you need. The taxi from the airport is about 30,-- USD, that is the normal price in Lilongwe. Their food, breakfast and dinner, is very good. Nothing to complain here.

The price for extras is OK, but you pay 2x more for wine and beer than you would in a local supermarkets. Internet is provided through skyband - unfortunately it is volume based and if you come out of the bush after 5 weeks and connect your Macbook to WIFI, the automatic updates will suck your expensive bits within minutes. A flatrate for internet would be better, but this is complaining on a very high level. :-) I would replace the old CRT TVs with fast free and unlimited internet. Who watches TV today? :-) Everything is very clean. The rooms are very nice, but the bathrooms could be renovated. I loved to relax in the big lounge and I met some very descent people here.

My overall experience was GREAT - this place is nicer, cleaner and friendlier than many hotels I've seen so far. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time staying at Cluny Lodge, and the service and accommodation is simply excellent. This time my husband and I stayed for an entire month in one of their standard rooms. We didn't have one complaint. Rooms are kept very clean, free t.v. and wifi is available. There is also a work room for consultants or business people to work in quiet or have a meeting. The owners Bev and Marinus are so welcoming and go out of their way to help with any request. The location is excellent, a short walk to Old town yet on one of the quieter streets. Last year we stayed in several areas and find this to be one of the most central and quietest by far. Coming home to Cluny every day actually felt like our home. And the nicest part is that you can mingle with the other guests if you want company. We became great friends with many of them, and would sit on the porch in the evening enjoying a gin and tonic and some laughs, and had many great meals around the dinner table with people from all over the world. It's a much nicer alternative to staying in a hotel room where you are cut off from everyone else. Breakfasts are included and they offer a nice variety of food. If you have an early morning their staff happily comes in early to accommodate. You can have dinner here as well which is handy if you are tired from your day and don't want to venture out. Friday is steak night and it is not to be missed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lodge and plan on saying here again if we are ever back in Lilongwe. It is quite popular so I would suggest to make reservations early.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very warm hosts made me feel very welcome, wished I could have had more time in lilongwe :-).
Will definitely book with them whenever in Malawi.The location is very convinient,close to the old town as well as quiet.The staff is very attentive and eager to please.

Room Tip: main bedroom is very spacious and self-contained, money's worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan201100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
0.7 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cluny Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cluny Lodge

Property: Cluny Lodge
Address: 9 Plot #69, Area, Lilongwe, Malawi
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive & comfortable accommodation in the Area 9 suburb of Lilongwe. Ideal for the consultant - the premises are quiet, secure and ideally situated for easy access to all parts of the city. Our mission and pleasure is to endeavor to make your stay as comfortable as possible and thus ensure your return visit!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Cluny Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Hotel Lilongwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing